ACP presents collegiate journalism’s preeminent awards, the Pacemaker Awards, each year.

The competition offers a category for each type of media organization: Broadcast, Magazine, Newspaper, Online and Yearbook.

Entries are judged by teams of professionals based upon coverage and content; quality of writing and reporting; leadership; design; photography; and graphics.

ACP also presents Pacemakers in both Business and Innovation. Entries are evaluated to honor excellence in these two crucial areas of collegiate media. The Business Pacemaker is sponsored with College Media Business and Advertising Managers.

Participation is a benefit of ACP membership. 

All ACP Pacemakers are announced in an awards ceremony at the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention.

2021 Broadcast Pacemaker

August 2021

2021 Business Pacemaker

August 2021

2021 Innovation Pacemaker

August 2021

2021 Magazine Pacemaker

June 14, 2021

2021 Newspaper Pacemaker

June 14, 2021

2021 Online Pacemaker

June 14, 2021

2020 Yearbook Pacemaker

Dec. 21, 2020

ACP Individual Awards recognize the top levels of national achievement within an academic year. 

There are nine categories, with subcategories in each. Judging the contests are professionals with experience and expertise in the category.

Participation is a benefit of ACP membership. 

Contests are open to any student on an ACP-member staff. Entries must have been published or broadcast during the academic year.

All ACP Individual Awards are announced in an awards ceremony at the Fall National College Media Convention, and all are entered the preceding June.

Story of the Year

Reporter of the Year

Story of the Year

Design of the Year

Photo of the Year

Cartoon of the Year

Advertisement of the Year

Best Use of Social Media

COVID-19 Coverage

ACP’s Best of Show competition honors both organizational and individual work among collegiate media who register for the convention and enter the competition.

ACP offers Best of Show at all of its conventions, and winners are announced in an awards ceremony at the conclusion of each convention.

Best of Show categories, deadlines and submission information are posted to the specific convention site up to six weeks prior to the convention start. 

The cost is $20 for members and $30 for non-members.


For fall 2020 Best of Show information, visit the Best of Show page at

Archive of past winners

ACP’s new student competition, Clips & Clicks, launches in fall 2020 and honors current work.

Open to all ACP members, Clips & Clicks offers multiple categories for student and publication achievement, and each contest segment encompasses one semester of work. 

The fall-semester competition opens in September and closes in mid-December, with fall winners announced by mid-January.

The spring-semester contest opens in mid-December and closes in mid-May, with winners announced in early June.

The cost is $10 per entry, with no limit on entries. Any student on staff at an ACP-member publication is eligible.

For more information on the contest, its categories and submission instructions, go to the Clips & Clicks page.

Reveille Seven College Press Freedom Award

ACP and the Student Press Law Center sponsor the Reveille Seven College Press Freedom Award with the Louisiana State University Manship School of Communication.

The award recognizes a college student news organization or college journalists that have made an outstanding effort to ensure college press freedom. The Reveille Seven College Press Freedom Award recipient receives a plaque recognizing their achievements and their news organization receives a check for $2,000.

The prize is underwritten by the Manship School in memory of the Reveille Seven, a group of LSU student journalists who, in 1934, were expelled for publishing criticism of then Louisiana Gov. Huey Long. They were later cleared of wrongdoing and vindicated.

Additional information, including a list of past winners of this award, is available at the SPLC site.