2017 Magazine Pacemaker Finalists announced

MINNEAPOLIS — The National Scholastic Press Association has recognized 14 magazines as finalists in the 2017 Literary Magazine Pacemaker competition.

The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” said Laura Widmer, executive director. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

The NSPA Pacemaker award, one of the oldest awards for scholastic journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to high school newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Throughout the years, yearbooks, literary magazines, online sites and broadcast programs were added to the competition.

To select the 14 winning literary arts magazines, judges carefully studied 70 entries submitted from 28 states. Each magazine was analyzed and discussed by a team of three judges.

The 14 Pacemaker finalists represent the top 20 percent of the entries. From the 14 finalists, six magazines will be named Pacemakers, representing the top nine percent.

“The magazines selected by the judges reflect both classic and contemporary formats,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director. “The quality of art, photography, poetry and prose showcased on the pages of these magazines is amazing.”

The Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention, April 12-14, 2018 in San Francisco.

On Thursday, April 12 the Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and will receive plaques at the Opening Ceremony from 7-9 p.m.

On Saturday, April 14 the Pacemaker winners will be announced and will receive plaques at the Awards Ceremony from 3:30-6 p.m.


Cactus Shadows High School
Cave Creek, Arizona
Adviser: Lori Hart
Editor: Logan Larkin

Fayetteville High School
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Adviser: Kate Stueart
Editors: David Freeman, Sophie Harris

Titan Musings
San Marino High School
San Marino, California
Adviser: José Caire
Editor: Tiffany Chu

The Looking Glass
Rocky Mountain High School
Fort Collins, Colorado
Advisers: Jim Glenn, Robert Laurie

The Oracle
Brunswick School
Greenwich, Connecticut
Adviser: John Martin
Editors: Colin MacFaddin, Ben Shore

One Blue Wall
duPont Manual High School
Louisville, Kentucky
Adviser: Amy Ritchie
Editor: Aileen Tierney

Jackson Preparatory School
Jackson, Mississippi
Adviser: Paul Smith
Editor: Brianne Powers

Phillips Exeter Academy
Exeter, New Hampshire
Adviser: Sean Campbell
Editors: Pradyumn Dayal, Connie Cai

Roars and Whispers
Providence Senior High School
Charlotte, North Carolina
Adviser: Marva Hutchinson
Editors: Hannah Magraw, Remy Lucien, Katherine Welch

Kealing Middle School
Austin, Texas
Adviser: Sarah Waggoner
Editors: Jana Lassiter, Jullian Evans-Strong, Kylie Simmons, Sydney Boothe

The Hockaday School
Dallas, Texas
Adviser: Ana Rosenthal
Editors: Teal Cohen, Ellea Lamb

The Marque
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas
Advisers: Lynne Weber Schwartz, Gaymarie Vaughan
Editor: Killian Green

Cistercian Preparatory School
Irving, Texas
Adviser: Fr. Stephen Gregg
Editors: Jamison DeCuir, Daniel Hu

The Lost Art
McKinney High School
McKinney, Texas
Advisers: Kaitlin Christian, Katye Rutledge
Editors: Austyne Chetwood, Lauren Tyson