

April 6, 2024

Parkway West yearbook to enter NSPA Hall of Fame

The Pawesehi yearbook, at Parkway West High School, is being inducted into the National Scholastic Press Association Hall of Fame.

Pawesehi joins the nation's most honored scholastic publications through consistent excellence — 10 All-American Ratings from the NSPA Critique Service within an 11-year span.

"Earning an All-American rating is a significant achievement," Laura Widmer, NSPA executive director said. "Many publications staffs work for years to earn reach this level of excellence, making improvements each year."

Lindsey Katz, yearbook adviser, and four Parkway West student journalists will be recognized at the Spring National High School Journalism Convention, in Kansas City, Missouri, on April 6. Debra Klevens, Pawesehi adviser for 24 years and now at Clayton High School, will also attend.

Pawesehi is among 107 yearbooks in the NSPA Hall of Fame. NSPA recognized 13 charter members in 1988, and, in the past 36 years, 235 newspapers, magazines, websites and yearbooks have been inducted.

NSPA, with more than 1,000 members, is a national community of student journalists and scholastic journalism advisers. Its awards programs honor the nation's best high school and junior high/middle school media, and its national conventions and workshops educate and inspire journalists and advisers.

"The Hall of Fame represents sustained excellence," Widmer said. "This is a very significant achievement reflecting a school culture that values and supports student media, talented and dedicated students guided by faculty advisers who empower students."

For more information, contact Gary Lundgren, NSPA associate director, gary@studentpress.org.

> Link to this press release online