ACP honors 37 newspapers as 2018 Pacemaker finalists

MINNEAPOLIS — The Associated College Press has named 37 collegiate student newspapers as finalists in its annual Pacemaker competition.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” said Laura Widmer, executive director. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The 37 newspapers represent 18 states. California set the pace with seven finalists followed by Texas with five.

In all, 165 student newspapers entered the Pacemaker competition, an increase of 15 from the previous year. Entries represented 40 states and Canada.

Two teams of three judges devoted three days to the judging and studied every entry, discussing its strengths and weaknesses.

When the process was finished, the 37 Pacemaker finalists were named. From that group, 11 will earn the Pacemaker award, placing those newspapers in approximately the top seven percent of the entries.

In addition to demonstrating excellence in key areas including coverage, writing, editing, design and photography, the winning newspapers took risks and served as a strong voice for its student audience.

“The best newspapers didn’t just recap campus events, they delivered tenacious in-depth reporting and impartial and objective coverage,” said Gary Lundgren associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competition. “With so much happening in our country, it was interesting to see how those stories were reported from a campus perspective.”

Insights and observations from the judges about the Pacemaker winning newspapers will be posted when the Pacemaker winners are announced, along with the names and professional bios of the judges. The judges have provided written summaries about each Pacemaker winner as well as video comments about the process and the entries.

Newspapers competed against those publishing with the same frequency.

Four newspapers from two-year colleges were represented among the 37 Pacemaker finalists.

In this competition, only the print product was judged. Online sites compete in a separate competition. The ACP Online Pacemaker finalists will be announced shortly.

Both print and online Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention, Oct. 25-28, 2018 in Louisville, Ky.


The Sun

Southwestern College
Chula Vista, California
Editor: Alyssa Pajarillo
Adviser: Max Branscomb

Los Angeles Collegian

Los Angeles City College
Los Angeles, California
Editors: Naomi Johnson, Ande Richards
Adviser: Rhonda Guess

el Don

Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California
Editor: Timothy Bravo
Advisers: Sarah Bennett, Charles Little

The Clarion

Madison Area Technical College
Madison, Wisconsin
Editor: Adrienne Oliva
Adviser: Doug Kirchberg


The Auburn Plainsman

Auburn University
Auburn, Alabama
Editor: Chip Brownlee
Adviser: Alec Harvey

The Daily Californian

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, California
Editors: Karim Doumar, Harini Shyamsundar

The Orion

California State University, Chico
Chico, California
Editors: Elizabeth Castillo, Kayla Fitzgerald

The State Hornet

California State University, Sacramento
Sacramento, California
Editor: Barbara Harvey
Adviser: Stu VanAirsdale

Mustang News

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, California
Editor: Naba Ahmed
Adviser: Paul Bittick

The Miami Hurricane

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida
Editor: Emily Dulohery
Adviser: Tsisi Wakhisi

The Red & Black

University of Georgia
Athens Georgia
Editors: Lisee Pullara, Nicolle Sartain
Adviser: Rebecca Burns

The Signal

Georgia State University
Atlanta , Georgia
Editor: Christina Maxouris
Advisers: Bryce McNeil, Alice Murray

The Saber

Columbus State University
Columbus, Georgia
Editor: Scottie DeClue
Adviser: Joseph Miller

The Columbia Chronicle

Columbia College Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Editor: Zoe Eitel
Advisers: Stephanie Goldberg, Chris Richert, Len Strazewski

Indiana Daily Student

Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana
Editors: Carley Lanich, Michael Williams, Jamie Zega
Advisers: Ron Johnson, Ruth Witmer

Daily News

Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana
Editor: Casey Smith
Adviser: Lisa Renze-Rhodes

The Horizon

Indiana University Southeast
New Albany, Indiana
Editors: Shannon Greer, Sarah Magin
Adviser: Adam Maksl

Iowa State Daily

Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa
Editor: Emily Barske
Adviser: Mark Witherspoon

The Daily Iowan

University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa
Editor: Grace Pateras
Adviser: Jason Brummond

University Daily Kansan

University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas
Editors: Chandler Boese, Conner Mitchell
Advisers: Gerri Berendzen, Jon Schlitt

The Sunflower

Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas
Editor: Chance Swaim
Adviser: Amy DeVault

College Heights Herald

Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Editor: Andrew Henderson
Advisers: Chuck Clark, Carrie Pratt

The State News

Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
Editor: Rachel Fradette
Adviser: Omar Sofradzija

Minnesota Daily

University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Editor: Mike Hendrickson


Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Editor: Kara Hartnett
Adviser: Tamara Zellars Buck

The Journal

Webster University
Webster Groves, Missouri
Editors: Sara Bannoura, Jacob Claspille
Advisers: Larry Baden, Mark Saxon

The Ithacan

Ithaca College
Ithaca, New York
Editor: Aidan Quigley
Adviser: Michael Serino

The Daily Orange

Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York
Editor: Alexa Díaz

The Daily Tar Heel

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Editor: Tyler Fleming
Adviser: Erica Perel

The Pendulum

Elon University
Elon, North Carolina
Editor: Emmanuel Morgan
Adviser: Kelly Furnas

The Daily Pennsylvanian

University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Editors: Dan Spinelli, Rebecca Tan
Adviser: Eric Jacobs

The Collegian

South Dakota State University
Brookings, South Dakota
Editors: Emily De Waard, Makenzie Huber
Adviser: Susan Smith

The Shorthorn

The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas
Editors: Cody Bahn, Narda Perez
Advisers: Laurie Fox, Beth Francesco

The Daily Texan

University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas
Editor: Laura Hallas
Adviser: Peter Chen

Rice Thresher

Rice University
Houston, Texas
Editors: Drew Keller, Juan Saldana
Adviser: Kelley Lash

The Cougar

University of Houston
Houston, Texas
Editor: Emily Burleson
Adviser: Glissette Santana

The Mercury

The University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson, Texas
Editor: Miriam Percival
Adviser: Chad Thomas