2023 Broadcast Pacemaker finalists

ACP names top broadcast news programs

Pacemaker competition names 6 finalists
as ‘the best of the best’

Sept. 7, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — Honoring the nation’s best, the Associated College Press named six student-produced news broadcasts as finalists in its annual prestigious Pacemaker competition. 

The winners will be announced at the ACP Pacemaker and Individual Awards Ceremony at 4:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 30, at the Fall National College Media Convention, in Atlanta.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.” 

The prestigious Pacemaker recognizes overall excellence and distinguishes the top student media produced during a particular school year. The award started shortly after the association was founded in 1921 and is often regarded as the most-competitive, most-honored award in collegiate journalism.

Over the decades, Pacemakers have been awarded to online, newspaper, magazine and yearbook.  The broadcast Pacemaker competition was added in 2020.

“As digital platforms expand, a growing number of student media operations are producing outstanding broadcast news programs,” associate director Gary Lundgren said.

The news programs competed directly against each other and three award-winning broadcast educators selected the winners. Of the six finalists, two will be named Pacemakers.

Program frequency, school enrollment and whether the program was live or recorded were factors taken into consideration during the judging process.

Finalists are alphabetical by state.

Convention website • Register

ACP awards ceremonies

4:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 30

Finalists honored and
winners announced
for fall Pacemakers —

Winners announced —
ACP Individual Awards

11 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 1

ACP Best of Show awards

Enter Best of Show
at the fall convention.

2023 Broadcast Pacemaker finalists

listed by state

NewsWaves 32

Pepperdine University
Malibu, California

Producers/Editors: Liza Esquibias, Marley Penagos, Gabrielle Salgado

Adviser: Theresa de los Santos


California Baptist University
Riverside, California

Producers/Editors: Marques Brown, Ignacio Dominguez, Wyatt McElmurry

Advisers: James Kruppa, Sonya Singh

Your Newsroom

Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, Georgia

Producer/Editor: Nayia Worrell

Advisers: Crystal Hinga,
David Simpson

NewsLink Indiana

Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana

Producer/Editor: Logan Salzbrenner

Terry Heifetz, Lisa Renze-Rhodes


University of Mississippi
Oxford, Mississippi

Producers/Editors: A.C. Barker,
Sarah Gail Myers

Advisers: Roy Frostenson,
Larz Roberts

Lariat TV News Today

Baylor University
Waco, Texas

George Schroeder, Nate Smith

Adviser: Bruce Gietzen