2018 Online Pacemaker Finalists announced

MINNEAPOLIS — The National Scholastic Press Association has recognized 42 news sites as finalists in the 2018 Online Pacemaker competition.

While the judges have identified the Pacemaker finalists, the Pacemaker winners will not be selected until April.

“In an exciting change in the process, the judging teams will now continue to visit the sites named as Pacemaker finalists on almost a daily basis,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director. “The Pacemaker winners will be selected shortly before they are named on April 14, so for the 42 schools we are naming as finalists today, the competition is really just heating up.”

The NSPA Pacemaker award, one of the oldest awards for scholastic journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to high school newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Throughout the years, yearbooks, literary magazines, online news sites and broadcast programs were added to the competition.

The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” said Laura Widmer, executive director. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

To select the 42 Pacemaker finalists, judges carefully studied approximately 200 sites submitted from 30 states and four countries. The online sites competed in two different categories based on school population.

In this competition, only the online news product was judged. The news sites were either digital companions to print newspapers or newsmagazines or online-only productions.

A separate NSPA 2017 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemaker competition recognized 49 print news publications in November. Several schools earned Pacemaker honors for both their print and online products.

The Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention, April 12-14, 2018 in San Francisco.

On Thursday, April 12 the Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and will receive plaques at the Opening Ceremony from 7-9 p.m.

1,500 or greater enrollment

El Estoque

Monta Vista High School
Cupertino, California
Adviser: Julia Satterthwaite
Editors: Ananya Bhat, Ilena Peng

The Campanile

Palo Alto High School
Palo Alto, California
Advisers: Rod Satterthwaite, Esther Wojcicki
Editor: Edan Sneh

The Paly Voice

Palo Alto High School
Palo Alto, California
Adviser: Paul Kandell
Editors: Maya Reuven, William Sallomi, Noah Yuen

Crimson Newsmagazine

Paso Robles High School
Paso Robles, California
Adviser: Jeff Mount
Editors: Valeria Cisneros, Mason Seden-Hansen, Kathryn Varian

Eye of the Tiger

Roseville High School
Roseville, California
Adviser: Bobby Ritter
Editors: Rachel Barber, Elena Bateman, Jaime Bateman, Danielle Bennett, Gabi Hutson, Nicole Khudyavof, Cam Medrano, Jack Rosetti, Jackson Young

The Mirror

Van Nuys Senior High School
Van Nuys, California
Adviser: Ronald Goins
Editors: Tyler Jung, Chandler Beon, Woo Han, Amanda Godfrey


Boone High School
Orlando, Florida
Adviser: Bridgette Norris
Editor: Jack Rummler

Odyssey Media Group

Clarke Central High School
Athens, Georgia
Adviser: David Ragsdale
Editors:Lucia Bermudez, Aneesa Conine-Nakano

Niles West News

Niles West High School
Skokie, Illinois
Adviser: Lisa Rossa
Editors: Sammy Butera, Grace Geraghty

HiLite Online

Carmel High School
Carmel, Indiana
Adviser: Jim Streisel
Editor: Manahil Nadeem

The Little Hawk

Iowa City High School
Iowa City, Iowa
Adviser: Jonathan Rogers
Editor: Zoe Butler

The Harbinger Online

Shawnee Mission East High School
Prairie Village, Kansas
Adviser: Dow Tate
Editors: Reser Hall, Kaleigh Koc

Manual RedEye

duPont Manual High School
Louisville, Kentucky
Adviser: James Miller
Editors: Olivia Dawson, Olivia Evans

The Kirkwood Call

Kirkwood High School
Kirkwood, Missouri
Adviser: Mitch Eden
Editors: Camille Baker, Hannah Cohen, Chloe Hooker


Francis Howell North High School
Saint Charles, Missouri
Adviser: Aaron Manfull
Editor: Taylor Sheridan

The Leaf

Sycamore High School
Cincinnati, Ohio
Adviser: Cheralyn Jardine
Editors: Jenna Bao, Harsimran Makkad

The Shield Online

McCallum High School
Austin, Texas
Adviser: Dave Winter
Editor: Sophie Ryland

Westwood Horizon

Westwood High School
Austin, Texas
Adviser: Lanie Catuogno
Editors: Emily Lu, Jenny Xu

Coppell Student Media

Coppell High School
Coppell, Texas
Advisers: Chase Wofford, Irma Kennedy
Editor: Amelia Vanyo


Liberty High School
Frisco, Texas
Adviser: Brian Higgins
Editors: Brooke Colombo, Megan Lin, Keegan Williams

The Rider Online

Legacy High School
Mansfield, Texas
Advisers: Leland Mallett, Rachel Dearinger
Editors: Grant Baker, Lauren Hargrove

Tiger Times Online

Texas High School
Texarkana, Texas
Advisers: Clint Smith, Rebecca Potter
Editors: Celeste Anderson, Langley Leverett

HHS Media

Harrisonburg High School
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Adviser: Valerie Kibler
Editors: Garrett Cash, Olivia Comer

Fewer than 1,500 enrollment

The Feather Online

Fresno Christian High School
Fresno, California
Advisers: Greg Stobbe, Kori Friesen
Editors: Sam Cross, Mariana Fikse, Alex Rurik

The Boiling Point

Shalhevet High School
Los Angeles, California
Adviser: Joelle Keene
Editors: Hannah Jannol, Hila Machmali

The Oracle

The Archer School for Girls
Los Angeles, California
Adviser: Kristin Taylor
Editor: Cybele Zhang

Harker Aquila

The Harker School
San Jose, California
Adviser: Ellen Austin
Editor: Meena Gudapati

The Chronicle

Harvard-Westlake School
Studio City, California
Adviser: Jim Burns
Editors:Josie Abugov, Danielle Spitz

The Prowler

Starr’s Mill High School
Fayetteville, Georgia
Adviser: Justin Spencer
Editor: Rilee Stapleton

Cedar Post

Sandpoint High School
Sandpoint, Idaho
Adviser: William Love
Editors: McCalee Cain, Ciena Christensen

The Mustang Moon

Mount Vernon High School
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Adviser: JoAnn Gage
Editor: Paige Zaruba

The Harbinger

Algonquin Regional High School
Northborough, Massachusetts
Adviser: Lindsay Coppens
Editors: Paige Morse, Cassidy Wang

Wayland Student Press Network

Wayland High School
Wayland, Massachusetts
Advisers: Mary Barber, Brian Keaney
Editors: Janani Gandhi, Isabel Gitten, Duncan Stephenson

Knight Errant

Benilde-St. Margaret’s School
St. Louis Park, Minnesota
Advisers: Kari Koshiol, Tiffany Joseph, Kaia Press
Editors:Michael Hunter, Abby Letscher


St. Louis Park High School
St. Louis Park, Minnesota
Adviser: Lori Keekley
Editors: Mimi Fhima, Annabella Strathman

Rubicon Online
St. Paul Academy and Summit School
St. Paul, Minnesota
Adviser: Kathryn Campbell
Editor: Mimi Geller

The Globe
Clayton High School
Clayton, Missouri
Adviser: Erin Castellano
Editor: Lauren Praiss

SCHS Flightline

Skutt Catholic High School
Omaha, Nebraska
Adviser: Sandra Drummond
Editors: Maria Miller, Lilly Yates

Southwest Shadow

Southwest Career and Technical Academy
Las Vegas, Nevada
Adviser: Matthew LaPorte
Editors: Sofia Islam, Cassie Valdez

The Eagle’s Tale

Canyon High School
Canyon, Texas
Adviser: Laura Smith
Editors: Erin Sheffield, Katelyn Spivey, Jaren Tankersley


Prince George High School
Prince George, Virginia
Adviser: Chris Waugaman
Editor: Kattie Iwanski

The Blue & Gold

Taipei American School
Taipei, Taiwan
Adviser: Lindsey Kundel
Editor: Shereen Lee