2022 Literary Arts Magazine Pacemaker finalists

NSPA names ‘best of the best’

Pacemaker competition recognizes
15 magazine finalists for excellence

Feb. 24, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — The nation’s top scholastic literary arts magazines were recognized today by the National Scholastic Press Association, which announced 15  finalists in its annual Pacemaker competition.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

Pacemaker finalists will be honored and will receive plaques during the opening ceremony of the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention at 7 p.m. Thursday, April 20, in San Francisco.

Pacemaker winners will be announced for the first time at 3:30 p.m. Saturday, April 22, at the convention’s awards ceremony.

The NSPA Pacemaker, one of the oldest awards for scholastic journalism, has a rich tradition. The association started presenting the prestigious award to high school newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Throughout the years, yearbooks, magazines, online sites and broadcast programs were added to the competition. 

“The literary arts magazines selected by the judges reflect both classic and contemporary formats,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competition. “The quality of the art, photography, poetry and prose showcased on the pages of these magazines is amazing.”

A team of three judges studied every entry, discussing its strengths. The status of each entry was agreed upon by at least two of the three judges. 

When the process was completed, 15 finalists were named representing the top 30 percent of all entries. In April, six magazines will earn Pacemakers — representing the top 8 percent.

Literary arts magazines  from 9 states earned Pacemaker-finalist status. Florida set the pace with four finalists, followed by Mississippi, Texas and Virginia each with two finalists. 

To reflect trends in scholastic publishing, a specialty magazine category was added to the Pacemaker competition in 2018 to recognize niche magazines devoted to in-depth reporting on a single topic. Five 2022  Specialty Magazines Pacemaker winners were announced in November.

JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention

San Francisco
Hilton Union Square

NSPA awards ceremonies

7 p.m.
Thursday, April 20, 2023

Pacemaker finalists
2022 Yearbooks
2022 Literary Magazines
2023 Online
2023 Innovation

3:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 22, 2023

Pacemaker winners
2022 Yearbooks
2021 Literary Magazines
2023 Online
2023 Innovation

San Francisco
Best of Show

NSPA awards

Find past Pacemaker winners
in the NSPA awards archive.

To celebrate its centennial, NSPA compiled the Pacemaker 100 — its top 100 Pacemaker winners.

2022 Literary Arts Magazine Pacemaker finalists

listed by state

Reflections Literary & Arts Magazine
Gulliver Preparatory School
Miami, Florida
Editors-in-chief: Mia Carrasco, Sara Gelrud
Adviser: Monica Rodriguez

Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
Miami, Florida
Editors-in-chief: Mia Aviles, Stephania Lopez
Adviser: Rebecca Retana

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Parkland, Florida
Editors-in-chief: Lybah Haque, Reese Lansman
Adviser: Melissa Falkowski

Seeds in the Black Earth
Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts
West Palm Beach, Florida
Editor-in-chief: Emma Cantrell
Adviser: Brittany Rigdon

Iliad Literary-Art Magazine
Clarke Central High School
Athens, Georgia
Editors-in-chief: Kaija Gilbertson Hall, Luna Reichert
Adviser: David Ragsdale

Lyons Township High School
La Grange, Illinois
Editors-in-chief: Sarah Korpolinski, Rosie Martini
Advisers: Angela Gutierrez, Joseph Maffey, Mary Rohlicek

Iris: Art + Lit
St. Paul Academy and Summit School
St. Paul, Minnesota
Editors-in-chief: Eliza Farley, Poppy Ploen
Advisers: Kathryn Campbell, Andrew Inchiosa

Jackson Preparatory Junior High School
Flowood, Mississippi
Editors-in-chief: Greenlee Doty, Georgia Love
Advisers: Kimberly Reedy, Kathryn Shuff

Jackson Preparatory School
Flowood, Mississippi
Editor-in-chief: Trinity Scalia
Adviser: Paul Smith

Roars and Whispers
Providence Senior High School
Charlotte, North Carolina
Editors-in-chief: Diya Bhatt, Elizabeth Park, Lisa Zhang
Adviser: Marva Hutchinson

Christ Presbyterian Academy
Nashville, Tennessee
Editors-in-chief: Chloe Amyx, Hallie Crisp, Abi Hixson
Adviser: Heather Nagel

The Marque
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Thomas Phillip, Ekansh Tambe
Advisers: Lauren Brosovich, Lynne Schwartz

The Hockaday School
Dallas, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Gabrielle Rees, Abigail Ruble
Adviser: Julia Copeland

The Tartan
McLean High School
McLean, Virginia
Editors-in-chief: Minjae Hur, Sophia Pandit
Advisers: Lindsay Benedict, Seth LeBlanc

The Talon
Woodberry Forest School
Woodberry Forest, Virginia
Editors-in-chief: Asa McManamy, Pen Oldham
Advisers: Karen Broaddus, Rich Broaddus