2023 Pacemaker finalists broadcast

NSPA names top news broadcasts

Pacemaker competition recognizes 20 finalists
for excellence

Sept. 7, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — Honoring the nation’s best, the National Scholastic Press Association has named 20 scholastic news broadcasts as finalists in its prestigious Pacemaker competition.

NSPA Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced for the first time on Nov. 4, at the NSPA Awards Ceremony during the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Boston.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The NSPA Pacemaker award has a rich tradition and the association started presenting the award to high school newspapers a few years after the organization was founded in 1921. Throughout the years, yearbooks, magazines, online sites and broadcast programs were added to the competition.

The 20 Pacemaker finalists represent 11 states. Texas and Florida set the pace with five finalists each followed by Missouri with two. A single middle school broadcast was recognized.

Each school entered three programs from the 2022-23 school year. A team of three judges, collegiate broadcast professors and professionals in the broadcast industry, viewed each entry discussing and analyzing its strengths and weaknesses before selecting the finalists and Pacemakers.

“The winning entries stood out for not just their technical quality, but in the stories being covered,” Gary Lundgren, associate director and contest coordinator, said. “The writing, editing, hosting and the willingness to tackle relevant topics make these exceptional newscasts from start to finish.”

For judging, high school shows were divided into live and pre-recorded categories. The frequency of the broadcast was also considered. All middle school/junior high broadcasts competed in a separate category.

“The quality of the broadcasts is incredible and gets stronger each year,” Lundgren said. “It is exciting to watch the growth in broadcast programs in high schools across the country.”

Finalists are alphabetical by state.

Convention website • Register

NSPA awards ceremony

3:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 4, awards ceremony
Winners announced —
Individual Awards
Broadcast Pacemaker
Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemaker
Specialty Magazine Pacemaker
Boston Best of Show

Enter Best of Show
at the fall convention.

2023 BroadcastPacemaker finalists

listed by state


Carlsbad High School
Carlsbad, California

Producer/Editor: Staff

Adviser: Kurt Kohnen


Christopher Columbus High School
Miami, Florida

Daniel Rossi-Montero

Advisers: Omar Delgado, Christina Insua


Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
Miami, Florida

Sarah Chavez, Elena Fallow,
Gabriella Mallafre, Ana Perez

Adviser: Elizabeth Perez

The Odyssey

Somerset Academy Prep
Miami, Florida


Adviser: Natacha Delgado

Monthly Mane

Oviedo High School
Oviedo, Florida

Delaney Warner, Lillian Wray

Adviser: Kevin Patterson


Gulliver Preparatory School
Pinecrest, Florida

Bibi Eichenberg, Camila Figueroa, Desmond Howard, Amelie Santini, Ava Seymour

Advisers: Zach Garrett, Mike Sylver

The OneMaize Show

Maize Career Academy
Maize, Kansas

Sarah Conner, Melanie Coombs, Jaden Hutton, Chance Koopmann, Stahley Sears, Lakin Zamorano

Advisers: Jodee Johnson, Spencer O’Daniel, 

Knight Life

Sandwich High School
Sandwich, Massachusetts

Emma Abramson, Nick Weeks

Advisers: Dan Riley, John Stone

DTV News

Davison High School
Davison, Michigan

Jack Blascyk

Advisers: Amy Lesko, Randy Scott

HTV Magazine

Hillcrest High School
Springfield, Missouri

Lauren Jackson

Adviser: Dave Davis

FHNtoday TV

Francis Howell North High School
St. Charles, Missouri

Producers/Editors: Madelyn Clark, Marina Williams

Adviser: Aaron Manfull

Tower Broadcast News

The Masters School
Dobbs Ferry, New York

Carol Queiroz, Hanna Schiciano

Advisers: David Becker, Ellen Cowhey

Lincoln Live

Gahanna Lincoln High School
Gahanna, Ohio

Rei Tedoco, Jillian Sanders

Adviser: Mark Lowrie


Richland Northeast High School
Columbia, South Carolina

Jazmin Fletcher, Lillian Mirosavich, Sam Weiss

Andrew Chambers

CPA Media Studio

Christ Presbyterian Academy
Nashville, Tennessee


Adviser: Michael Ellson

KCBY Weekly

Coppell High School
Coppell, Texas

Lauren Beach, Anita Goodwin,
Betsy Krenek, Mau Sigler

Adviser: Irma Lazos-Kennedy

Coyote Nation TV

Heritage High School
Frisco, Texas

Producer/Editor: Katelyn Mimms

Adviser: Candace Bagwell

Hill Top News

Rock Hill High School
Frisco, Texas

Producers/Editors: Connor Fuxa, Kyla Lewis

Adviser: Margie Raper


Willow Springs Middle School
Lucas, Texas

Producers/Editors: Reid Boardman,
Cora Craver, Chayse Hunkhe, Cade Lynch, Madison Mehia

Adviser: Barbara Smith

Eagle Nation News

Prosper High School
Prosper, Texas

Producers/Editors: Grace Esquibel,
Landry Long, Madeleine Wentz

Adviser: Michael Hatch