2004 Design of the Year

co-sponsored by Adobe Systems

Newspaper Page One

First Place
Riza Bueser
Pilot’s Log
Hasbrouck Heights High School
Hasbrouck Heights, NJ

Second Place
Libby Nelson
The Harbinger
Shawnee Mission East High School
Prairie Village, KS

Third Place
Mark Stephanski
Henry M. Gunn High School
Palo Alto, CA

Third Place
Dan Brateris
Communications High School
Wall, NJ

Honorable Mention
Will Sullivan
Northwest Passage
Shawnee Mission Northwest High School
Shawnee, KS

News Page/Spread

First Place
Kevin Tang
Blue and Gold
Taipei American School
Shilin, Taipei, Taiwan, ROC 111

Second Place
Marianne Nitsch
Tiger Tribune
Klein Collins High School
Spring, TX

Third Place
Jessica Nielsen
Clover High School
Clover, SC

Honorable Mention
Maritza Diaz
Irvin High School
El Paso, TX

Honorable Mention
Monica Camilleri
Wolf Pack Press
Woodcreek High School
Roseville, CA

Yearbook Page/Spread

First Place
Eric Doster
Thomas Downey High School
Modesto, CA

Second Place
Katie Killary, Burgundy Niles
Spruce Creek High School
Port Orange, FL

Second Place
Alicia Parsons
Pleasant Valley High School
Chico, CA

Honorable Mention
Tyssa Erickson, Jennifer Moore
Shawnee Mission North High School
Overland Park, KS

Magazine Page/Spread

First Place
Claire Saffitz
The Works
Clayton High School
Clayton, MO

Second Place
Liz Casal
Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
Miami, FL

Third Place
Angela Keefer, Elizabeth Crow
Hockaday School
Dallas, TX

Honorable Mention
Ben Matheson
Albert Lea High School
Albert Lea, MN


First Place
Brent Aldrich
Warren Central High School
Indianapolis, IN

Second Place
Trevor Farella
The Update
H.H. Dow High School
Midland, MI

Third Place
Nick Rosati
Rio Americano High School
Sacramento, CA

Honorable Mention
John Kendall
The Register
Central High School
Omaha, NE