2017 Broadcast Pacemaker Finalists

MINNEAPOLIS — The nation’s top scholastic broadcast news programs were recognized today by the National Scholastic Press Association who announced the 15 finalists in its annual Pacemaker competition.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award and is often called the Pulitzer Prize of scholastic journalism,” said Laura Widmer, executive director. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The NSPA Pacemaker award has a rich tradition and started just a few years after the organization was founded in 1921. The Pacemaker was added for broadcasting in 1996 to reflect its growing importance at the high school level.

Each school entered three programs from the 2016-2017 school year. A team of three judges from College Broadcasters, Inc. viewed each entry discussing its strengths and weaknesses.

The judging team praised the overall quality of the entries: “The Pacemaker-winning entries stood out for their quality, not only in the production, but in the stories being told, the writing, editing and hosting, and the willingness to tackle controversial topics. These were exceptional newscasts start to finish.”

Shows were divided into live and pre-recorded categories. The frequency of the broadcast was also considered with daily shows competing in a category, with weekly, bi-weekly, monthly or less-frequently in another.

The 15 Pacemaker finalists included 14 high schools and one middle school representing eight states. Texas lead with five broadcast programs named as finalists. Overall, four of the finalists produced live broadcasts and seven aired daily shows.

Of the 15 Pacemaker finalists, eight will be named Pacemaker winners. In all, there were 55 entries.

Insights and observations from the judges about the Pacemaker winning broadcasts will be posted when the Pacemaker winners are announced along with professional bios of the judges.

Broadcast Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention, Nov. 16-19, 2017 in Dallas.

CHSTV, Carlsbad High School
Carlsbad, California
Editors: Peyton Headlee, Chris Weedman, Connor Hanan
Adviser: Doug Green

EVTV, Eagle Valley High School
Gypsum, Colorado
Editors: Nate Felton, Natalie Marner, Xochilt Villaseñor
Adviser: Hannah Shapiro

CCNN Live, Christopher Columbus High School
Miami, Florida
Editors: Christopher Vazquez, Daniel Diaz, Anthony Martinez, Christopher Ahrendt
Advisers: Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Daniel Rodriguez, David Ulloa

WROR-TV, Oviedo High School
Oviedo, Florida
Editors: Kadi Tao, Carrie-Lynn Gross, Ashlyn Register
Adviser: Kevin Patterson

BTV N3WS, The Benjamin School
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Editors: Maggie Mahon, Maddie Wilson
Adviser: Ken Archer

DTV, Davison High School
Davison, Michigan
Editors: Jordyn Bruns, Calvin Phillips
Adviser: Randy Scott

Trojan TV News, Park Hill High School
Kansas City, Missouri
Editor: Kelley Collins
Adviser: Justin Ford

Tiger Broadcast, Lee’s Summit High School
Lee’s Summit, Missouri
Editors: Jaclyn Berry, Jared Newell
Adviser: Elaine McDonald

Hawk Eye TV Today, Charlotte Latin School
Charlotte, North Carolina
Editor: Lilly Omirly
Adviser: Sean Clark-Weis

Gnasher News, Gorzycki Middle School
Austin, Texas
Editors: Mariah Barsotti, Abbey Smith, Christina Adams, Vivian Howard, Cade Spencer, Amy Bejarano
Adviser: Lindsey Shirack

KCBY-TV, Coppell High School
Coppell, Texas
Editors: Autumn Jones, Blake Snawder, Kolbe Klement, Marykathryn Furgeson
Adviser: Irma Lazos-Kennedy

WTV Daily Update, Liberty High School
Frisco, Texas
Editors: Neha Perumalla, Maddie Owens, Wade Glover
Adviser: Brian Higgins

Leopard Spotlight, Lovejoy High School
Lucas, Texas
Editor: Matthew Cinquepalmi
Adviser: Corey Hale

Eagle Nation News, Prosper High School
Prosper, Texas
Editors: Jake Fein, Tish Cama, Jack Gargus
Adviser: Brian Kennedy

CHS Wired, Cody High School
Cody, Wyoming
Editors: Jessica Morales, Ashley Christenson
Adviser: Erika Quick