Stoneman Douglas student journalists, advisers to be recognized at national convention

Stoneman Douglas student journalists, advisers to be recognized at national convention

Student journalists and advisers from the Marjory Stoneman Douglas yearbook and newspaper staffs were notified last week that they will receive the first Courage and Commitment Award from National Scholastic Press Association. They will be recognized at the opening ceremony of the National High School Journalism Convention in San Francisco on April 12.

However, after recognizing these NSPA-member staffs of this award, it was noted that the broadcast students should also be recognized, even though they are not NSPA members.

“The point of the Courage and Commitment Award from NSPA should not be limited to student journalists who are just NSPA members,” Laura Widmer, NSPA executive director, said. “Good journalism is good journalism and the yearbook, newspaper and broadcast students and advisers should all be recognized for their work during and after this tragedy.

“The NSPA Board of Directors wanted to honor the journalism students and advisers for their remarkable response to the tragic shooting that left 17 people dead at their school in Parkland, Fla., on Feb. 14,” “I am proud to say that our board initiated this recommendation.”

“These students and their teachers had the presence of mind and clarity of purpose to think like journalists during and in the immediate aftermath of the most traumatic incident of their lives,” Libin said. “Even as they survived the attack on their school, they served their community by reporting on the incident in a way that no outsider could. Their courage and commitment deserve our recognition.”

Widmer said these young journalists continue to amaze us with their newspaper, website, yearbook and broadcast coverage.

“I cannot think of more deserving staffs to receive our very first Courage and Commitment Award,” Widmer said. “Melissa Falkowski of The Eagle Eye Newsmagazine, Sarah Lerner of Aerie yearbook and Eric Garner of the broadcast station, are to be commended for the great job they did advising their staffs during and since the shootings. Also, their student journalists continue to be an inspiration to us throughout the country.”

Widmer will present the award during the 7 p.m. keynote ceremony in Yerba Buena room at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis.

For more information contact Laura Widmer, NSPA executive director.

2829 University Ave. SE
Suite 720, Minneapolis, MN 55414
612-200-9265 (office)
660-853-9365 (cell)