NSPA/ACP names educator, journalist to its board of directors

July 22, 2021

Two journalism educators with extensive experience in education and journalism have been named to the board of directors of National Scholastic Press Association / Associated Collegiate Press.

Margie Raper and Diego Aparicio have joined the board that oversees both press associations, which serve student journalists and journalism teachers and media advisers across the nation and in other countries. The NSPA division serves high school journalism, the ACP division serves collegiate journalism, and the Minnesota High School Press Association supports high school journalists across the state.

Both NSPA and ACP serve their members with fall and spring conventions and a range of recognition programs. The NSPA and ACP Pacemaker Awards are considered the top prizes in both scholastic and collegiate journalism. The associations celebrate their 100th year in 2021.

“We are excited to have Diego and Margie join our board,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “We know they will bring new ideas to the board, but they also bring experience from a variety of programs and media outlets over their illustrious careers.”

Raper is an 18-year journalism teacher who serves as broadcast journalism and publication adviser at Prosper-Rock Hill High School, Frisco, Texas. 

She is past president of the Texas Association of Journalism Educators and has been honored as Distinguished Yearbook Adviser by Journalism Education Association. She also teaches at the summer Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop and serves on its planning committee.

“I have grown as a journalism educator thanks to NSPA/ACP’s mission to support, inspire and enhance standards and practices in classrooms and newsrooms across the country,” Raper said. 

“Journalism programs face a range of challenges and are in need of support and resources,” she said. “Joining the NSPA/ACP board is my opportunity to give back and serve the community that has given me so much.” 

Jeanne Acton, president of the NSPA/ACP board and director of the University Interscholastic League, Austin, Texas, welcomed Raper to the board.

“In Texas, Margie is known as the Energizer Bunny. She is more productive than anyone I know,”  Acton said. “She thrives with all media and creates incredible programs across all platforms.”

Aparicio is a journalist specializing in bilingual audiences and multi-platform storytelling. He has two decades of experience in multiple news roles in print, TV and digital newsrooms, including The Denver Post, The Dallas Morning News, Univision and NBC/Telemundo.

He has served as a visiting assistant professor at Indiana University Southeast, New Albany, and Buena Vista University, Storm Lake, Iowa, as well as professional in-residence and student media adviser at California State University, Chico.

Aparicio said he accepted the invitation to join the board because newsrooms continue to be overwhelmingly underrepresented — and student media is not an exception. 

“It’s important to support our community of student journalists and advisers with resources, training and procedures that are a reflection of the diverse audiences we serve,” Aparicio said, “I hope my perspective working with marginalized communities helps advance with that mission.”

Elizabeth Smith, NSPA/ACP president-elect, Pepperdine University, praised Aparicio joining the board.

“Diego Aparicio has become an important voice in the college media landscape,” Smith said. “He is quick to offer resources and tools to other advisers and educators, he is solutions-oriented, and he expresses a sharp focus on supporting students to become better equipped as journalists.”

Raper and Aparicio are among 13 members on the NSPA/ACP board, whose president and president-elect represent collegiate and scholastic journalism. 

NSPA/ACP board of directors

Margie Raper
Diego Aparicio