NSPA announces 2013 Wikoff, Honor Roll scholarship recipients

Three scholastic newspaper journalists will receive scholarships from the National Scholastic Press Association for their accomplishments in academics and journalism.

Ben Germano of The Benjamin School High School in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. has been selected as the winner of the $1,000 NSPA Wikoff Scholarship for Editorial Leadership out of 62 total entrants.

In recognition of his service to the National Scholastic Press Association as its executive director in the 1970s, NSPA has offered the Wally Wikoff Scholarship for Editorial Leadership since 1998. Entrants must submit three published editorials and must also possess at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale. A recommendation letter from the publication adviser is also required.

Germano has served on The Pharcyde newspaper staff for three years. The Wikoff scholarship judge made the following remarks about his entry: “Benjamin’s editorials showed an understanding of issues important to his readers, and a passion for persuasion to right the wrongs he saw in his school…Benjamin’s editorials focused on issues within his high school, but were written in such a persuasive manner that even though I have nothing to do with that high school, I found myself caring about the issues. That’s the mark of a good editorial: to take a topic and make someone care enough to affect change.”

Anna Sturla, editor in chief of BlueDevilHUB.com at Davis Senior High School in Davis, Calif. has been named the winner of the $1,000 NSPA Journalism Honor Roll Scholarship out of 102 entries. Sturla’s determination and powers of perception are evident in her essay. She wrote, “I’m attracted to the overlooked. My best stories come when I take the time to listen to people much different from myself.”

Gary Furrow JR, editor in chief of The Clearlight at Clearwater High School in Clearwater, Fla. was chosen as runner-up in the Journalism Honor Roll scholarship contest and will receive a $500 scholarship to the college or university he plans to attend.

Journalism Honor Roll scholarship applicants must possess a cumulative 3.75 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and also submit an essay on why they plan to pursue a career in journalism. The publication adviser must recommend the applicant.

Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention on Saturday, April 27, in San Francisco.

Contact: contests@studentpress.org