NSPA announces 2014 Wikoff, Honor Roll scholarship recipients

Three scholastic newspaper journalists will receive scholarships from the National Scholastic Press Association for their accomplishments in academics and journalism.

Laura Scieszinski of Johnston High School in Iowa has been selected as the winner of the $1,000 NSPA Wikoff Scholarship for Editorial Leadership out of 68 total entrants.

In recognition of his service to the National Scholastic Press Association as its executive director in the 1970s, NSPA has offered the Wally Wikoff Scholarship for Editorial Leadership since 1998. Entrants must submit three published editorials and must also possess at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale. A recommendation letter from the publication adviser is also required.

Scieszinski has served on the Black & White newspaper staff since her freshman year. The Wikoff scholarship judge made the following remarks about her entry: “Strong writing, relevant topics, well-supported arguments, a variety of story-telling techniques to emphasize context and understanding. Laura did it all well. In the end, Laura’s range won me over. I wish her the best of luck as she starts her independent life, and look forward to her contributions and successes.”

Rachel Hartwick, managing editor of Spark newspaper at Lakota High School in Liberty Township, Ohio has been named the winner of the $1,000 NSPA Journalism Honor Roll Scholarship out of 97 entries. Hartwick passion for, and dedication to, journalism are apparent in her essay. She wrote, “It’s the overlooked issues where I find my interest. I’m not interested in journalism because of the grades it gets me on papers or for the salary I may receive someday. I’m in it for telling the stories of people that nobody knew existed, because I’ve never had an interview with someone and thought, ‘this person doesn’t have a story.'”

Clare Ling, online editor in chief of The Zephyrus newspaper at Edina High School in Edina, Minn. was chosen as runner-up in the Journalism Honor Roll scholarship contest and will receive a $500 scholarship to the college or university he plans to attend.
Journalism Honor Roll scholarship applicants must possess a cumulative 3.75 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and also submit an essay on why they plan to pursue a career in journalism. The publication adviser must recommend the applicant.

Scholarship recipients will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention on Saturday, April 12, in San Francisco.

Contact: contests@studentpress.org