2024 Online Pacemakers

ACP honors top collegiate online media

March 9, 2024

Associated Collegiate Press honored the nation’s top collegiate online media with its Pacemaker awards at the ACP Spring National College Media Conference, in La Jolla, California.

ACP Pacemakers in Student Media Business, Online and Yearbook, as well as Individual Awards in Business and Advertising, were announced at the conference awards ceremony.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

Online Pacemaker finalists

2024 Online Pacemakers
Two-year campuses

listed by state

The Hornet

Fullerton College
Fullerton, California

Editors-in-chief: Mikey Moran, Mariana Ramos, Jake Rhodes

Adviser: Jessica Langlois

el Don

Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California

Editor-in-chief: Staff

Advisers: Sarah Bennett, Jacqueline Schlossman

2024 Online Pacemakers
Four-year campuses

listed by state

Daily Forty-Niner

California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, California

Editors-in-chief: Christal Gaines-Emory, El Nicklin

Advisers: Barbara Kingsley-Wilson, Gary Metzker

Daily Bruin

University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Editor-in-chief: Isabelle Friedman

Adviser: Abigail Goldman

Daily Trojan

University of Southern California
Los Angeles, California

Editors-in-chief: Jonathan Park, Sanya Verma

Advisers: Mona Cravens, Jeff Tylicki

The State Hornet

Sacramento State University
Sacramento, California

Editor-in-chief: Mercy Sosa

Adviser: Fernando Gallo


University of Miami
Miami, Florida

Editor-in-chief: Lizzie Kristal, Amanda Mohamad

Adviser: Randy Stano

The Red and Black

The University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia

Editor-in-chief: Elizabeth Rymarev

Adviser: Kayla Renie

The Daily Northwestern

Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois

Editor-in-chief: Avani Kalra

Adviser: Stacia Campbell

Urban Plains

Drake University
Des Moines, Iowa

Editor-in-chief: CJ Younger

Adviser: Jeff Inman

The Daily Iowan

University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Editors-in-chief: Sabine Martin, Jami Martin-Trainor

Adviser: Jason Brummond

The Sunflower

Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas

Editor-in-chief: Mia Hennen

Adviser: Amy DeVault

The Harvard Crimson

Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Editors-in-chief: Cara Chang, Brandon Kingdollar

The Michigan Daily

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Editors-in-chief: Shannon Stocking, Kate Weiland

Impact 89FM | WDBM-FM

Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan

Editor-in-chief: Delaney Rogers

Adviser: Jeremy Whiting

The NewsHouse

Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York

Editor-in-chief: Julia Carden

Adviser: Jon Glass

Elon News Network

Elon University
Elon, North Carolina

Editor-in-chief: Ryan Kupperman

Adviser: Kelly Furnas

The Breeze

James Madison University
Harrisonburg, Virginia

Editor-in-chief: Grant Johnson

Advisers: Brad Jenkins, Ryan Parkhurst