2023 Yearbook Pacemakers

ACP names top student yearbooks

Pacemaker competition names
the ‘best of the best’

March 9, 2024

LA JOLLA, CALIFORNIA — The nation’s top collegiate yearbooks were recognized today by Associated Collegiate Press, which announced three in its annual Pacemaker Awards competition at the ACP Spring National College Media Conference.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Laura Widmer, executive director, said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

The ACP Pacemaker Award, one of the oldest awards for collegiate journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to collegiate newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Through the years, yearbooks, magazines and online sites were added to the competition.

“These yearbooks deliver engaging verbal and visual stories, showcasing superior photojournalism, writing and design,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competitions.

Yearbooks produced during the 2022-23 school year competed directly against each other. A team of three nationally recognized judges selected the six Pacemaker finalists. Of those six, three received Pacemaker honors.

Yearbook Pacemakers

Alphabetical order by state

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida
Editor-in-chief: Carolina Camus
Adviser: Randy Stano

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, Missouri
Editor-in-chief: Emily Kunkel
Adviser: Steven Chappell

Baylor Roundup
Baylor University
Waco, Texas
Editor-in-chief: Josh McSwain
Advisers: Bruce Gietzen, Julie Reed