NSPA names 2022 Honor Roll scholarship winners

Two seniors each earn $1,000
for academic, journalistic excellence

July 15, 2022

MINNEAPOLIS — Two graduating high school seniors have earned scholarships from the National Scholastic Press Association for their accomplishments in academics and journalism.

Ani Tutunjyan, Van Nuys High School (California), has earned the 2022 Honor Roll Scholarship and will receive $1,000.

Tutunjyan was selected from among the hundreds of high school journalists named to the NSPA Honor Roll of Student Journalists and who applied for the scholarship. The Honor Roll recognizes student journalists who have achieved a 3.5 or higher grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) and have completed at least two years on a high school student media staff.

Miles Wang, Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach, Florida, has earned the Wikoff Editorial Leadership Scholarship. The scholarship features a $1,000 award given to a high school senior on the staff of an NSPA-member newspaper with a minimum 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Applicants were also judged based on the quality of three published editorials they submitted. Wally Wikoff, the scholarship namesake, was NSPA executive director in the 1970s.

Tutunjyan served four years on the staff of The Mirror and as executive editor and print editor-in-chief her senior year.

“Ani single-handedly sets the agenda for the journalism program, independently handling and delegating tasks with a minimum of adviser interference,” adviser Ron Goins said. “Accomplishing this requires interpersonal skills that she has honed through four years of experience.”

Wang started his high school journalism career as a freshman taking the intro to journalism class. He served as a writer on The Muse newsmagazine and web managing editor and editor. 

> Wang’s portfolio of editorials

“Miles is one of the most intelligent and mature students I have had the pleasure of teaching,” adviser Carly Gates said. “As an editorial writer he brings his skills in writing and debate together in one platform. His writing is well researched, thoughtful and balanced. He cares greatly about choosing issues that matter to the student body.”

NSPA, established in 1921, is the nation’s largest scholastic press association. It provides training and recognition of achievement to high school and middle school journalists. It serves thousands of students and their advisers with two national conventions each year.

The organization’s renowned Pacemaker award honors top scholastic broadcasts, newspapers, magazines, websites and yearbooks, and its Individual Awards celebrate student work through dozens of specific categories.