2019 Cartoon of the Year finalists

Associated Collegiate Press has announced its finalists for the 2019 Cartoon of the Year competition.

All finalists will be recognized and the winners announced for the first time at the ACP/CMA National College Media Convention, Oct. 31-Nov. 3, 2019, in Washington, D.C., on Saturday afternoon.

First- through fifth-place winners will receive plaques, and five honorable mention winners will receive certificates.

Finalists are shown below in alphabetical order by state.

RELATED: 2019 Individual Award Finalists
Advertisement | Cartoon | Design | Multimedia | Photo | Story |
Ernie Pyle Reporter of the Year | Local Climate Change Reporting

Editorial Cartoon

Karen Gamez
The Voice
Glendale Community College

Anne Anderson
Indiana Daily Student
Indiana University

Savannah Quarum
Portland State University

Ben Claar
The Daily Pennsylvanian
The University of Pennsylvania

Emily Jasso
Foghorn News
Del Mar College

Barbara Kitchens
The Shorthorn
University of Texas at Arlington

Carolina Alvarez
The Mercury
The University of Texas at Dallas

Aftin Gavin
The Collegian
Tarrant County College

Aftin Gavin
The Collegian
Tarrant County College

Roman Brown
The Shorthorn
University of Texas at Arlington

Comic Panel/Strip

Elisabeth Smith
The Banner
California Baptist University

Masha Zhdanova
The Connector
Savannah College of Art and Design, Atlanta

Amanda Dixon Stropshire
The Signal
Georgia State University

Nile DeFrietas
The Red & Black
University of Georgia

Jeanne Lee
The Johns Hopkins News-Letter
Johns Hopkins University

Sam Porozok
The Pendulum
Elon University

Sindy Huang
North Carolina State University

Samantha Hrubes
The Voice
Community College of Allegheny County, North Campus

Jesus Madrid
Et Cetera
Eastfield College

Michael Edwards
The Clarion
Madison Area Technical College