2022 Yearbook Pacemakers

ACP names top student yearbooks

Pacemaker competition names
the ‘best of the best’

March 11, 2023

SAN FRANCISCO — The nation’s top collegiate yearbooks were recognized today by Associated Collegiate Press, which announced three in its annual Pacemaker Awards competition at the ACP Spring National College Media Conferencee.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Laura Widmer, executive director, said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

The ACP Pacemaker Award, one of the oldest awards for collegiate journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to collegiate newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Through the years, yearbooks, magazines and online sites were added to the competition.

“These yearbooks deliver engaging verbal and visual stories, showcasing superior photojournalism, writing and design,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competitions.

Yearbooks produced during the 2021-22 school year competed directly against each other. A team of three nationally recognized judges selected the 10 Pacemaker finalists. Of those 10, three received Pacemaker honors.

Yearbook Pacemaker winners

Alphabetical order by state

Ouachita Baptist University
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Editors-in-chief: Gracen Goudy, Anna Roussel
Adviser: Deborah Root

Royal Purple
Kansas State University
Manhattan, Kansas
Editor-in-chief: Hallie Everett
Advisers: Ira David Levy, John Walter

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, Missouri
Editor-in-chief: Andrew Bradbury
Adviser: Steven Chappell