2022 Newspaper Pacemakers

ACP names top student newspapers

Pacemaker competition names 19
as the ‘best of the best’

Oct. 28, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Honoring the nation’s best, Associated College Press named 19  student newspapers as winners of its prestigious Pacemaker during an awards ceremony at MediaFest22, the Fall National College Media Convention, in Washington, D.C.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

In September, 34 newspapers were named Pacemaker finalists. The finalists represent 18 states. Texas  set the pace with five finalists followed by California.

The 19 Pacemaker winners represent the top 22 percent of the entries. Six of the Pacemaker-winning newspapers were published by two-year schools.

Three print issues produced during the 2021-22 school year were submitted for consideration. Two teams of three judges studied every entry, analyzing its strengths and weaknesses. At least two of the three judges agreed on whether a newspaper was eliminated or would be named a finalist or winner.

Newspapers from four-year schools competed against schools with similar enrollment. Newspapers from two-year schools, of all enrollments, competed in a separate category.

“This was a very challenging year for collegiate print newspapers,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “The pandemic impacted advertising sales and the operation of newsrooms, but the overall quality of the newspapers was stronger than ever.”

In all, 88 newspapers entered the Pacemaker competition.

In addition to demonstrating excellence in key areas including coverage, writing, editing, design and photography, the winning newspapers took risks and served as a strong voice for the student audience.

In this competition, only the print product was judged. Online sites compete in a separate Pacemaker competition. 

Two-year schools

The Southwestern College Sun

Southwestern College
Chula Vista, California

Editor: Camila Gonzalez

Advisers: Max Branscomb,
Kenneth Pagano

el Don

Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California

Editor: Kate Bustamante

Adviser: Sarah Bennett

The Corsair

Santa Monica College
Santa Monica, California

Editor: Katheryne Menendez

Advisers: Ashanti Blaize-Hopkins,
Gerard Burkhart, Sharyn Obsatz

The Reporter

Miami Dade College
Miami, Florida

Editor: Ammy Sanchez

Adviser: Manolo Barco

Four-year schools

The Red & Black

University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia

Editors: Jacqueline GaNun,
Spencer Donovan

Adviser: Charlotte Norsworthy

The Columbia Chronicle

Columbia College Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Editors: Camryn Cutinello,
Noah Jennings

Advisers: Curtis Lawrence,
Travis Truitt

Indiana Daily Student

Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana

Editors: Colin Kulpa,
Izzy Myszak, Luke Norton

Advisers: Malinda Aston,
Jim Rodenbush, Ruth Witmer

The Ball State Daily News

Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana

Editor: Taylor Smith

Adviser: Lisa Renze-Rhodes

The Daily Iowan

University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Editor: Caleb McCullough

Adviser: Jason Brummond

The Sunflower

Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas

Editor: Lindsay Smith

Adviser: Amy DeVault

College Heights Herald

Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Editors: Lily Burris,
Michael Collins

Advisers: Chuck Clark,
Carrie Pratt

The Maroon

Loyola University New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana

Editor: Gabriela Carballo

Adviser: Michael Giusti

The Tulane Hullabaloo

Tulane University
New Orleans, Louisiana

Editor: Maiya Tate

Adviser: Chantal Bailliet

The Harvard Crimson

Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Editors: Raquel Coronell Uribe,
Jasper Goodman

The Daily Tar Heel

University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill

Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Editor: Praveena Somasundaram

Adviser: Courtney Mitchell

The Pendulum

Elon University
Elon, North Carolina

Editor: Nyah Phengsitthy

Adviser: Kelly Furnas

The Daily Pennsylvanian

University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Editors: Jonah Charlton,
Pia Singh

Adviser: Deborah Howlett

The Shorthorn

The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Editor: Angelica Perez

Advisers: Laurie Fox,
Will Parchman

The Battalion

Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas

Editors: Myranda Campanella, Shelby McVey

Adviser: Douglas Pils