2022 Yearbook Pacemaker finalists

ACP names ‘best of the best’

Pacemaker competition recognizes
10 yearbook finalists for excellence

Jan. 17, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — The nation’s top collegiate yearbooks were recognized today by Associated Collegiate Press, which announced 10 finalists in its annual Pacemaker competition.

The yearbooks will be honored and the Pacemaker winners announced during the Saturday awards ceremony at the ACP Spring National College Media Conference,  March 9-11, 2023, in San Francisco.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Laura Widmer, executive director, said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

The ACP Pacemaker, one of the oldest awards for collegiate journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to collegiate newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Through the years, yearbooks, magazines and online sites were added to the competition.

“These yearbooks deliver engaging verbal and visual stories, showcasing superior photojournalism, writing and design,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competitions.

Yearbooks produced during the 2021-22 school year competed directly against each other. A team of three nationally recognized judges selected the finalists and Pacemaker winners.

Past Yearbook
Pacemaker winners
2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 
2017 | 2016 | 2015

Past Yearbook
Pacemaker finalists
2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 
2017 | 2016 | 2015

ACP awards archive

ACP Spring National
College Media Conference
March 9-11, 2023
Hyatt Regency San Francisco

> Register for the conference

Yearbook Pacemaker
awards ceremony
3:30 p.m. PT
Saturday, March 11
San Francisco

Yearbook Pacemaker finalists

Alphabetical order by state

Ouachita Baptist University
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Editors-in-chief: Gracen Goudy, Anna Roussel
Adviser: Deborah Root

Petit Jean
Harding University
Searcy, Arkansas
Editor-in-chief: Hannah Kellum
Adviser: April Fatula

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida
Editor-in-chief: Carolina Camus
Adviser: Randy Stano

Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana
Editor-in-chief: Izzy Myszak
Advisers: Jim Rodenbush, Ruth Witmer

Royal Purple
Kansas State University
Manhattan, Kansas
Editor-in-chief: Hallie Everett
Advisers: Ira David Levy, John Walter

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Editor-in-chief: Dyanna Bateman
Adviser: n/a

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, Missouri
Editor-in-chief: Andrew Bradbury
Adviser: Steven Chappell

North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina
Editors-in-chief: Don Bui, Mandy Stacy
Adviser: Martha Collins

Baylor University
Waco, Texas
Editor-in-chief: Andreea Loghin
Advisers: Bruce Gietzen, Julie Reed

The Bluestone
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Editor-in-chief: Liv Mumma
Adviser: Cynthia Martin