2022 Cartoon of the Year

Sept. 8, 2022

Associated Collegiate Press announces the finalists in its 2022 Cartoon of the Year competition.

Individual Award winners will be announced at MediaFest22, the Fall National College Media Convention, at 3:30 p.m. ET Friday, Oct. 28, at the Grand Hyatt Washington.

A gallery of winners will be posted after the Oct. 28 announcement.

Finalists below are listed by state.

Register for the convention.
Enter the convention’s Best of Show contest.

Pacemaker finalists
Announced in September 2022, these Pacemaker finalists will be honored and winners announced at the Oct. 28 awards ceremony.

Broadcast • Innovation • Magazine •
Multiplatform • Newspaper • Online

2022 Yearbook Pacemakers will be presented in spring 2023.

Pacemaker 100
To celebrate our 100th birthday, we’ll honor our top Pacemaker winners and announce the Top 10 at the fall convention.

Editorial Cartoon

Mackenzie Matt
The Union, El Camino College, Torrance, California
“It’s time to talk”

Madelyn Powers
Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana
“Missing Black and Brown people are just as important”

Jazlyn Gomez
The Reflector, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Indiana
“Racism on Campus”

Gabriela Villatoro
The Shorthorn, The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas
“Transgender-student athletes disadvantage”

Amber Davis
The Collegian, Tarrant County College, Hurst, Texas
“Morally, Kyle Rittenhouse is absolutely guilty”

Comic Strip/Panel

Brisa Parra
Daily Trojan, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California
“Dining Hall Date Night”

Selinna Tran
Old Gold & Black, Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
“The World is Ending”

Jacob Ramirez
Orange Media Network, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon
“Gumbo: Looking Back”

Cristina Del Coro Trio
The Shorthorn, The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, Texas
“Take pride in small strides”

Jerry Weiss
Richland Chronicle, Dallas College-Richland Campus, Dallas, Texas
“Stop teasing your sister!”