ACP Pacemaker honors innovation

5 student media operations rewarded for forward thinking

Sept. 28, 2022

MINNEAPOLIS — Five collegiate media programs have been honored by Associated College Press as finalists in its Innovation Pacemaker competition.

The winners will be announced at the ACP Pacemaker and Individual Awards Ceremony at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 28, at MediaFest22, the Fall National College Media Convention, in Washington, D.C.

Of the five finalists, two will earn Pacemaker honors.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.”


Broadcast • Innovation • 
Magazine • Multiplatform •
Newspaper • Online

Yearbook Pacemakers will be presented in spring 2023.

The prestigious Pacemaker recognizes overall excellence and distinguishes the top student media produced during a particular school year. The award started shortly after the association was founded in 1921 and is often regarded as the most-competitive, most-honored award in collegiate journalism.

The Innovation Pacemaker is designed to encourage out-of-the-box thinking and reward student media for the courage to take chances to improve service to their customers, readers and communities.

“Collegiate student media is rapidly changing and those programs that don’t generate new revenue streams and innovative ways to deliver content to their readers will struggle to survive,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “Print is now just one component — there is far more to a successful student media program than publishing the campus newspaper.”

Leadership, coverage, content delivery, marketing, business, community, press freedom and partnerships are among the areas where innovation is encouraged.

Finalists are alphabetical by state.

Two-year college

el Don
Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California
Editors: Kate Bustamante, Carrie Graham, Edgar Galvan,
Sergio Gutierrez, Emily Hernandez, Miranda Navarro
Adviser: Sarah Bennett

Four-year college/university

Pepperdine Graphic Media
Pepperdine University
Malibu, California
Editors: Inez Kim, Abigail Wilt
Adviser: Elizabeth Smith

The George-Anne Media Zone
Georgia Southern University
Statesboro, Georgia
Editors: Maya Albert, Andy Cole, Ansley Hamilton, Tamara Tanksley
Adviser: David Simpson

The Ithacan
Ithaca College
Ithaca, New York
Editors: Caitlin Holtzman, Eleanor Kay, Alexis Manore
Adviser: Casey Musarra

The Appalachian
Appalachian State University
Boone, North Carolina
Editors: Efrain Arias-Medina Jr., Emily Broyles, Cameron Burnett,
Max Correa, Makenzie Hamrick, Jessica Kimes, Xanayra Marin-Lopez,
Meg Powell, Ansley Puckett, Aubrey Smith, Gabrielle Troutman
Adviser: Allison Bennett Dyche