2020 Broadcast Pacemaker Awards

Nov. 21, 2020

National Scholastic Press Association salutes the winners of its 2020 Broadcast Pacemaker Awards.

Winners of NSPA Pacemaker Awards in broadcast, specialty magazine and newspaper/newsmagazine, as well as winners of NSPA Individual Awards, were announced during the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention on Nov. 21 in a virtual awards ceremony.

Winners are alphabetical by state.

Fall 2020 Pacemaker Awards
Newspaper/Newsmagazine/Specialty Magazine

Fall 2020 Pacemaker Award finalists
BroadcastNewspaper/Newsmagazine/Specialty Magazine

2020 Individual Awards
Digital StoryPhotoPortfolioStory
Social Justice ReportingLocal Climate Change Reporting
Best Use of Social MediaCOVID-19 Coverage
Middle School

Fall 2020 Best of Show
JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention,
Nov. 21, 2020

WATCH the awards presentation.

NSPA Awards page

NSPA Awards archive

Middle School/Junior High

Kealing Middle School
Austin, Texas
Producer: Alice Scott
Advisers: Laurie Pena Brooks, Kristen Scott

High School

Carlsbad High School
Carlsbad, California
Producer: Maddie Ward
Adviser: Doug Green

HTV Magazine
Hillcrest High School
Springfield, Missouri
Producer: Staff
Adviser: Dave Davis

McKinney High School
McKinney, Texas
Producers: Sara Hummadi, Noah Kim, Anika Newland, Ally Tauber
Advisers: Alyssa Boehringer, Curtis Christian

Eagle Nation News
Prosper High School
Prosper, Texas
Producer: Cristina Folsom
Adviser: Michael Hatch