2020 Local Climate Change Reporting

Nov. 21, 2020

National Scholastic Press Association salutes the winners in its 2020 Local Climate Change Reporting competition.

The contest is presented in partnership with the George Mason University Center for Climate Change Communication, which encourages local climate change reporting by student media.

Students were encouraged to use the Climate Matters reporting resources, science-based reporting materials that are funded, in part, by the National Science Foundation. 

The first-place winner earned $500 and the second- and third-place winners $300 and $200 respectively. Team reporting was permitted, with the cash prize divided among the names on the entry form.

Winners of NSPA Individual Awards and NSPA Pacemaker Awards in broadcast, specialty magazine and newspaper/newsmagazine were announced during the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention on Nov. 21 in a virtual awards ceremony.

2020 Individual Awards
Digital StoryPhotoPortfolioStory
Social Justice ReportingLocal Climate Change Reporting
Best Use of Social MediaCOVID-19 Coverage
Middle School

Fall 2020 NSPA Pacemaker Awards
Broadcast • Newspaper/Newsmagazine/Specialty Magazine

Fall 2020 Best of Show
JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention,
Nov. 21, 2020

WATCH the awards presentation.

NSPA Awards page

NSPA Awards archive

Great Lakes: On the Brink
DTV News
Davison High School
Davison, Michigan

Climate Change – The Environment Coverage
The Communicator
Community High School
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Crisis on Planet Earth
Audrey Novinger, Anjali Noel Ramesh, Bailey Stover
Bearing News
Rock Bridge High School
Columbia, Missouri

Climate Change
Jeffrey Chen, Rishi Mohan, Tamal Pilla, Antonio Quinones, Varun Trivedi
Scientific Marksmen
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas

Carlmont student advocates change at UN
Camille Kay, Audrey Swenson
Scot Scoop
Carlmont High School
Belmont, California

Honorable Mention
The Permanente Quarry
Amir Iravani, Sanat Singhal, Nikita Srinivas
The Prospector
Cupertino High School
Cupertino, California

Honorable Mention
World at stake
Tyler Cho, Devin Gupta, Hannah Lee, Claire Wen
El Estoque
Monta Vista High School
Cupertino, California

Honorable Mention
Climate Change: Existential Crisis of our time
Eric Fang, Nina Gee, Mark Hu, Saloni Shah
Winged Post
The Harker School
San Jose, California

Honorable Mention
Rising waters, rising stakes
Sarah McKinzie, Clark Zhang
Silver Chips
Montgomery Blair High School
Silver Spring, Maryland

Honorable Mention
A Scorched Earth
Ben Brooks, Dua Mobin, Marina Qu, Rebeka Rafi
The Highlander
McLean High School
McLean, Virginia