2020 literary magazine Pacemaker finalists

2020 magazine Pacemaker finalists announced

NSPA honors 17 literary arts magazines

REGISTER to watch the live awards ceremony, at 1 p.m. CT Saturday, April 10.

WATCH the NSPA Live! presentation of the finalists from March 19, 2021.

March 19, 2021

MINNEAPOLIS — Honoring the nation’s best, the National Scholastic Press Association has named 17 scholastic literary arts magazines as finalists in its prestigious Pacemaker competition.

Pacemaker winners will be announced at 1 p.m. CT Saturday, April 10, as part of the virtual JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention. 

 “The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The NSPA Pacemaker, one of the oldest awards for scholastic journalism, has a rich tradition. The association started presenting the prestigious award to high school newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Throughout the years, yearbooks, magazines, online sites and broadcast programs were added to the competition.

The 17 Pacemaker finalists represent 12 states. Texas led with four finalists, followed by Florida with three.

“The literary arts magazines selected by the judges reflect both classic and contemporary formats,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competition. “The quality of the art, photography, poetry and prose showcased on the pages of these magazines is amazing.”

To reflect trends in scholastic publishing, a specialty magazine category was added in 2018 to recognize niche magazines devoted to in-depth reporting on a single topic. Five specialty magazines were recognized in November. 

NSPA awards ceremony

1 p.m. Central
Saturday, April 10, 2021

Pacemaker Award winners for 2020 yearbooks and literary magazines and 2021 online will be announced at this ceremony, as will winners in the convention’s Best of Show competition.

To view the virtual ceremony, register for the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention.

2020 Yearbook Pacemaker Award finalists
2021 Online Pacemaker Award finalists
2020 Literary Magazine Pacemaker Finalists

Past award winners
Awards information
Contest information

Enter NSPA’s newest competition, Clips & Clicks.

Spring 2021 contest information
Fall 2020 results

2020 literary magazine Pacemaker Award finalists

Finalists listed by state

McGill-Toolen Catholic High School
Mobile, Alabama
Editor: Marika Hall
Advisers:  Mary Carter, Nancy Fontenot

Haas Hall Academy
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Editor: Sophie Yarbrough
Advisers:  Kate Cochran, Matt Henriksen, Karen Henry, Larry Henry

Our Lady of Lourdes Academy
Miami, Florida
Editors: Victoria Milian, Sophia Pargas
Adviser: Rebecca Retana

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Parkland, Florida
Editor: Anna Bayuk
Adviser: Melissa Falkowski

Seeds in the Black Earth
Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts
West Palm Beach, Florida
Editor: Taylor DiPietro
Adviser: Carly Gates

iliad Literary-Art Magazine
Clarke Central High School
Athens, Georgia
Editor: Beatric Acheson
Adviser: David Ragsdale

Lyons Township High School
La Grange, Illinois
Editors: Eleanor Keelan, Juliette Lopez
Advisers: Angela Gutierrez, Joseph Maffey, Mary Rohlicek

Westfield High School
Westfield, Indiana
Editor: Benjamin Rascon Gracia
Advisers: Beth Ellis, Katy Harbison, Victor McCarty, Holly Wheeler

One Blue Wall
duPont Manual High School
Louisville, Kentucky
Editor: Cassidy Witt
Adviser: Kristafer Abplanalp

Iris: Art + Lit
St. Paul Academy and Summit School
St. Paul, Minnesota
Editor: Quinn Christensen
Advisers: Kathryn Campbell, Andrew Inchiosa

Jackson Preparatory School
Flowood, Mississippi
Editor: Ainsley Sinclair
Adviser: Paul Smith

Roars and Whispers
Providence Senior High School
Charlotte, North Carolina
Editors: Charlotte Beck, Bhavana Veeravalli, Abigail Welch
Adviser: Marva Hutchinson

Lincoln Park Performing Arts Charter School
Midland, Pennsylvania
Editors: Julia Aloi, Grace David, Sophia Felger
Advisers: Dan LeRoy, Cassandra Patten

The Marque
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas
Editors: Neal Reddy, Kasen Roberson
Advisers: Lynne Schwartz, Geoffrey Stanbury

The Episcopal School of Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Editor: Meera Gangasani
Adviser: Heather Cernoch

The Hockaday School
Dallas, Texas
Editors: Christine Kirby, Hailey Sipes
Adviser: Julia Copeland

The Lost Art
McKinney High School
McKinney, Texas
Editors: Karla Aguirre-Raigoso, Bianca Diaz
Advisers: Kaitlin Christian, Katye Thompson