2020 Local Climate Change Reporting finalists

Nov. 3, 2020

National Scholastic Press Association announces the finalists in its 2020 Local Climate Change Reporting competition.

The contest is presented in partnership with the George Mason University Center for Climate Change Communication, which encourages local climate change reporting by student media.

Students were encouraged to use the Climate Matters reporting resources, science-based reporting materials that are funded, in part, by the National Science Foundation. 

The first-place winner earns $500 and the second- and third-place winners $300 and $200 respectively. Team reporting was permitted, with the cash prize divided among the names on the entry form.

Winners in this and all Individual Award categories, as well as the NSPA Pacemaker Awards in broadcast, specialty magazine and newspaper/newsmagazine, will be announced online at 1 p.m. Central Saturday, Nov. 21, as part of the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention, presented virtually Nov. 19-21.

To view the awards presentation, register for the convention at orlando.journalismconvention.org by 11:59 p.m. Central Nov. 13.

Finalists listed below are alphabetical by state.

Carlmont student advocates change at UN
Camille Kay, Audrey Swenson
Scot Scoop
Carlmont High School
Belmont, California

The Permanente Quarry
Amir Iravani, Sanat Singhal, Nikita Srinivas
The Prospector
Cupertino High School
Cupertino, California

World at stake
Tyler Cho, Devin Gupta, Hannah Lee, Claire Wen
El Estoque
Monta Vista High School
Cupertino, California

Climate Change: Existential Crisis of our time
Eric Fang, Nina Gee, Mark Hu, Saloni Shah
Winged Post
The Harker School
San Jose, California

Rising waters, rising stakes
Sarah McKinzie, Clark Zhang
Silver Chips
Montgomery Blair High School
Silver Spring, Maryland

Climate Change – The Environment Coverage
The Communicator
Community High School
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Great Lakes: On the Brink
DTV News
Davison High School
Davison, Michigan

Crisis on Planet Earth
Audrey Novinger, Anjali Noel Ramesh, Bailey Stover
Bearing News
Rock Bridge High School
Columbia, Missouri

Climate Change
Jeffrey Chen, Rishi Mohan, Tamal Pilla, Antonio Quinones, Varun Trivedi
Scientific Marksmen
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas

A Scorched Earth
Ben Brooks, Dua Mobin, Marina Qu, Rebeka Rafi
The Highlander
McLean High School
McLean, Virginia