2020 Social Justice Reporting finalists

Nov. 3, 2020

National Scholastic Press Association announces the finalists in its 2020 Social Justice Reporting competition.

First-place winners in this competition and the Story of the Year categories are then eligible to compete for NSPA’s Brasler Prize.

Winners in this and all Individual Award categories, as well as the NSPA Pacemaker Awards in broadcast, specialty magazine and newspaper/newsmagazine, will be announced online at 1 p.m. Central Saturday, Nov. 21, as part of the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention, presented virtually Nov. 19-21.

To view the awards presentation, register for the convention at orlando.journalismconvention.org by 11:59 p.m. Central Nov. 13.

Finalists listed below are alphabetical by state.

Social Justice Reporting

Fighting for rights
News Staff
El Estoque
Monta Vista High School
Cupertino, California

Discussing Teacher Grooming at Tino, Part 1: The Problem
Ashley Kang, Sanat Singhal
The Prospector
Prospect High School
Cupertino, California

Rabbis, others demonstrate against ‘get refuser’ while he is sitting shiva
Jacob Joseph Lefkowitz Brooks
The Boiling Point
Shalhevet High School
Los Angeles, California

Derailing Harassment
Sasha Smith
The Muse
Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts
west palm beach, Florida

Disrupting Injustice, Exposing Indifference
Ryan Kupperman
The Prospector
Prospect High School
Mount Prospect, Illnois

Alice Meng, Jenna Wang
West Side Story
Iowa City West High School
Iowa City, Iowa

Not Your Model Minority
Mori Ono
The Communicator Magazine
Community High School
Ann Arbor, Michigan

LGBTQ Concerns Move into Mainstream
Ryan Choe, Turner DeArmond, Ana Manzano, Bailey Stover
Bearing News
Rock Bridge High School
Columbia, Missouri

What You Say: One word sparks a world of controversy
Cary Robbins
The Lodge
St. George’s Independent School
Collierville, Tennessee

Coming Clean
Heran Essayas, Kyle Hawley, Nicholas Lohman, Ava Rotondo
The Highlander
McLean High School
McLean, Virginia