2023 Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Awards

NSPA honors
top scholastic journalism in diversity, equity and inclusion

Nov. 4, 2023

National Scholastic Press Association salutes the winners of its 2023 Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Awards.

The award is sponsored by the Hubbard School of Journalism and Mass Communication, at the University of Minnesota. Winners receive a plaque and a $500 cash award presented by the Hubbard School.

NSPA’s Individual Awards are among the top prizes in scholastic media, and the awards are a showcase of journalistic excellence.

Winners were announced during the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Media Convention, on Nov. 4, in Boston.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Reporting

First Place
Annabel Chia
Scot Scoop
Carlmont High School
Belmont, California
The streets of the city: a rising residence for youth

Second Place
Zoe Hällström
International Dateline
Washington International School
Washington, District of Columbia
Ben’s Chili Bowl: The Heart of D.C.’s Black Community

Third Place
Eden Leavey
The Standard
The American School in London
London, United Kingdom
Rebuilding: Syrian refugee girls pursue education

Fourth Place
Lucy Chong
The Trinity Voice
Trinity Preparatory School
Winter Park, Florida
Broken Ladders

Fifth Place
Alex Young
Shawnee Mission Northwest High School
Shawnee, Kansas
Dear Little Me

Honorable mentions

Payton Anderson, Brennen Ho
The Paly Voice, Palo Alto High School, Palo Alto, California
Muwekma Ohlone leader promotes federal recognition

Bridget Baker, Mack Jones, Jessica Sehgal, Milo Slevin, Marin Ubersox
The Evanstonian, Evanston Township High School, Evanston, Illinois
A historical tug of war

Greyson Imm
The Harbinger, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
Discipline or Disrespect?

Khadija Khan
Call, Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood, Missouri
A walk in her shoes 

Viktoriia Sokolenko
Tower, The Masters School, Dobbs Ferry, New York
How diverse is your AP class