2023 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemakers

NSPA names top newspapers, magazines

Pacemaker competition names 24 publications
as the ‘best of the best’

Nov. 4, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — Honoring the nation’s best, National Scholastic Press Association has named 19 newspapers and five specialty magazines as prestigious Pacemaker winners.

These 2023 winners, plus the 2023 Pacemaker Awards in Broadcast, were announced during the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention, in Boston.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

2023 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemakers
junior high/middle school

listed by state

The Town Crier
Paul Revere Charter Middle School
Los Angeles, California
Editor-in-chief: Isabella Aguilar
Adviser: Eric Wechsler

The Sequoyah Scribe
John Sevier Middle School
Kingsport, Tennessee
Editor-in-chief: Gabriel Whitehead
Adviser: David Flanary

The Scroll
The American School in London (Middle School)
London, England
Editor-in-chief: Staff
Adviser: Colin Bridgewater

2023 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemakers
high school

listed by state

The Accolade
Sunny Hills High School
Fullerton, California
Editor-in-chief: Kate Yang
Adviser: Tommy Li

Palo Alto High School
Palo Alto, California
Editors-in-chief: Meena Narayanaswami, Jonas Pao, Yash Shetty, Melody Xu
Adviser: Paul Kandell

Bear Witness
Branham High School
San Jose, California
Editors-in-chief: Jiyoon Choi, Nolan Zils
Adviser: Fitzgerald Vo

The Mix
Monarch High School
Louisville, Colorado
Editor-in-chief: Maeby Aleo
Adviser: Ben Reed

Eagle Eye News
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School
Parkland, Florida
Editor-in-chief: Julia Landy
Adviser: Melissa Falkowski

Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts
West Palm Beach, Florida
Editors-in-chief: Bridget Frawley, Olivia Metzler
Adviser: Carly Gates

U-High Midway
University of Chicago Laboratory High School
Chicago, Illinois
Editors-in-chief: Clare O’Connor, Téa Tamburo, William Tan
Adviser: Logan Aimone

The Harbinger
Shawnee Mission East High School
Prairie Village, Kansas
Editors-in-chief: Peyton Moore, Francesca Stamati
Adviser: Dow Tate

Northwest Passage
Shawnee Mission Northwest High School
Shawnee, Kansas
Editors-in-chief: Grace Logan, Veronica Meiss
Adviser: Susan Massy

The Kirkwood Call
Kirkwood High School
Kirkwood, Missouri
Editors-in-chief: Kinley Bokermann, Sim Khanuja, Caroline Steidley
Adviser: Mitch Eden

Lakota East High School
Liberty Township, Ohio
Editors-in-chief: Audrey Allen, Abbey Bahan, Zachary Schultz
Adviser: Dean Hume

The Dispatch
James Bowie High School
Austin, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Isabella del Nido, Lucille Price, Carey Wooley
Adviser: Michael Reeves

The Shield
McCallum High School
Austin, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Evie Barnard, Alice Scott
Adviser: Dave Winter

Eagle Edition
Episcopal School of Dallas
Dallas, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Maddy Hammett, Grace Worsham
Adviser: Ana Rosenthal

St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas
Editor-in-chief: Shreyan Daulat
Adviser: Jenny Dial Creech

The Review
St. John’s School
Houston, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Wilson Bailey, Cameron Ederle, Diane Guo, Annie Jones, Alice Xu
Advisers: Sam Abramson, David Nathan, Shelley Stein

2023 Specialty Magazine Pacemakers

listed by state

Palo Alto High School
Palo Alto, California
Editors-in-chief: Annelise Balentine, Arati Periyannan
Adviser: Paul Kandell

On the Record
duPont Manual High School
Louisville, Kentucky
Editor-in-chief: Bella Tilford
Adviser: Liz Palmer

Backcountry Review
Springfield High School
Springfield, Oregon
Editors-in-chief: Carly Bramhall, Jay Bramhall, Yuriana Espino Sosa
Adviser: Ivan Miller

Geneva Quarterly
Geneva School of Boerne
Boerne, Texas
Editor-in-chief: Sophia Baldwin
Adviser: Christina Hammock

The Scientific Marksman
St. Mark’s School of Texas
Dallas, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Michael Gao, Aaron Liu
Adviser: Fletcher Carron