2020 Best Use of Social Media finalists

Oct. 13, 2020

Associated Collegiate Press announces the finalists in its 2020 Best Use of Social Media competition.

Winners in this and all Individual Award categories, as well as the ACP Pacemaker Awards, will be announced virtually at 6 p.m. Eastern Thursday, Oct. 22, during the Fall National College Media Convention.

To view the awards presentation, register for the convention at collegemediaconvention.org.

Finalists listed below are alphabetical by state.

2020 Individual Award Finalists

MultimediaReporterPhoto • Story
Best Use of Social MediaCOVID-19 Coverage

2020 Pacemaker finalists

MagazineNewspaper • Online2019 Yearbook

Social Media Reporting

Five presidential candidates talk Latinx issues at Cal State LA
George Garcia, Isaac Gutierrez, Amairani Hernandez,  Richard Tzul, Catherine Valdez
University Times
California State University, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Twitter Coverage of Black Lives Matter Protest
Parth Kotak
The GW Hatchet
The George Washington University
Washington, D.C.

COVID-19 Group Page
Marissa Payne, Aadit Tambe, Sarah Watson
The Daily Iowan
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Saints basketball preview night is slam dunk
Preston Burrows, Annette Meza, Cheyenne Miller, Calen Moore
Crusader News
Seward County Community College
Liberal, Kansas

The Michigan Daily Social Media
Reporting Portfolio
John Grieve, Benjamin Korn
The Michigan Daily
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Black Lives Matter protest Twitter thread
Ashley Hayford
The Daily Collegian
Penn State University
State College, Pennsylvania

Shooting at Eastgate Apartments
Baylor Lariat
Baylor University
Waco, Texas

The Shorthorn’s Approach to Social Media
The Shorthorn
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Social Media Promotion

UrbanArts Campaign
Barbara Silvera Ramìrez
Urbana Literary & Arts
Miami Dade College, Eduardo J. Padrón Campus
Miami, Florida

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida

Talisman Social Media
Bailey Cooke, Erin Horton, Sam Mallon, Rylee McKee, Ally Mefford
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky

State News Social Media Promotion
Staff Staff
The State News
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan

We’ll never be the same
Will Jacott, Zach Walker
The Clarion
Bethel University
St. Paul, Minnesota

High Stakes
Brooke Schneider, David Schneidman, Shannon Stubbs
The NewsHouse
Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York

Oregon fundraising battle
Alec Dietz, Josh Kirshenbaum, Hailey Robinson
The Daily
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington