2021 Online Pacemaker Awards

Top collegiate online sites announced

ACP Pacemaker competition names 14
as the ‘best of the best’

Oct. 14, 2021

MINNEAPOLIS — Online news and magazine sites from 14 colleges and universities have earned the prestigious Pacemaker award from the Associated Collegiate Press.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

In September, 32 online sites were named Pacemaker finalists. The finalists represented 17 states, the District of Columbia and a Canadian province.  California set the pace with nine finalists followed by Florida, Texas and North Carolina each with three.

Online sites from two-year and four-year schools competed in separate divisions. There were three two-year schools and 29 four-year schools honored as Pacemaker finalists. 

Within the four-year school category, websites competed against those from colleges and universities with similar enrollments.

To select the finalists, respected professionals including professors and current digital media professionals analyzed, discussed and rated each entry.

“Today’s best online sites are platforms for rich multimedia storytelling,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competition. “Deep and diverse coverage with strong engagement and interactivity distinguish the best student-produced sites.” 

In this competition, only the online product was judged. Print newspapers and magazines compete in a separate Pacemaker competition. 

Two-year colleges

el Don

Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California

Editors: Julian Reynoso,
Carrie Graham

Advisers: Charles Little,
Sarah Bennett

Four-year colleges

The Auburn Plainsman

Auburn University
Auburn, Alabama

Editor: Jack West

Advisers: Brit Bowen, Billy Ferris

The Daily Bruin

University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Editor: Melissa Morris

Adviser: Abigail Goldman

The Occidental

Occidental College
Los Angeles, California

Editor: Staff

Adviser: Barbara Thomas

The Graphic

Pepperdine University
Malibu, California

Editors: Makena Huey, Rowan Toke

Advisers: Elizabeth Smith, Courtenay Stallings

Mustang News

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Editors: Sabrina Pascua,
Stephanie Zappelli

Advisers: Pat Howe, Jon Schlitt, Brady Teufel

Distraction Magazine

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida

Editor: Gianna Milan

Adviser: Randy Stano

The Columbia Chronicle

Columbia College Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

Editors: Mari Devereaux,
Brooklyn Kiosow

Advisers: Curtis Lawrence,
Travis Truitt

Indiana Daily Student

Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana

Editors: Caroline Anders,
Jacob deCastro, Emily Isaacman, Tristan Jackson

Adviser: Jim Rodenbush,
Ruth Witmer

The Daily Iowan

University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Editors: Sarah Watson,
Kelsey Harrell

Adviser: Jason Brummond

The Michigan Daily

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Editors: Parth Dhyani, John Grieve, Claire Hao, Naitian Zhou

The Daily Tar Heel

University of North Carolina-
Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Editor: Anna Pogarcic

Adviser: Erica Perel

The Chronicle

Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

Editor: Matthew Griffin

Adviser: Chrissy Beck

Elon News Network

Elon University
Elon, North Carolina

Editor: Mackenzie Wilkes

Adviser: Kelly Furnas