2021 Innovation Pacemaker finalists

ACP Pacemaker honors innovation

Three student media operations rewarded
for forward thinking

Sept. 24, 2021

MINNEAPOLIS — Three collegiate media programs have been honored by the Associated College Press in the second year of its Innovation Pacemaker competition.

Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced virtually at 6 p.m. ET Thursday, Oct. 14, during the Fall National College Media Convention.

The prestigious Pacemaker recognizes overall excellence and distinguishes the top student media produced during a particular school year. The award started shortly after the association was founded in 1921 and is often regarded as the most-competitive, most-honored award in collegiate journalism.

The Innovation Pacemaker is designed to encourage out-of-the-box thinking and reward student media for the courage to take chances to improve service to their customers, readers and communities.

“Collegiate student media is rapidly changing and those programs that don’t generate new revenue streams and innovative ways to deliver content to their readers will struggle to survive,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “Print is now just one component — there is far more to a successful student media program than publishing the campus newspaper.”

Leadership, coverage, content delivery, marketing, business, community, press freedom and partnerships are among the areas where innovation is encouraged.

The State Hornet

Sacramento State University

Sacramento, California

Student leaders:
Max Connor, Jordan Parker,
Maddie Beck, Chris Wong

Adviser: Stu VanAirsdale

Urbana Literary & Arts

Miami Dade College –
Eduardo J. Padrón Campus

Miami, Florida

Student leaders: Daniela Lopez, Laura Santos, Gabriela Vilas

Adviser: Emily Sendin

Emerge Magazine

University of Guelph-Humber

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Student leaders: Lauren Ali,
Ashley Cave, Jade Encila,
Noah Grossman, Jenn Moore,
Emily Pantuso

Advisers: Norm Lourenco, Kimberley Noble