2021 Broadcast Pacemaker finalists

ACP names top broadcast news programs

Pacemaker competition names 7 finalists
as ‘the best of the best’ in the award’s second year

Sept. 30, 2021

MINNEAPOLIS — Honoring the nation’s best, the Associated College Press named seven student-produced news broadcasts as finalists in its annual prestigious Pacemaker competition. 

Pacemaker finalists will be recognized and the Pacemaker winners announced virtually at 6 p.m. ET Thursday, Oct. 14, during the Fall National College Media Convention.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.” 

The prestigious Pacemaker recognizes overall excellence and distinguishes the top student media produced during a particular school year. The award started shortly after the association was founded in 1921 and is often regarded as the most-competitive, most-honored award in collegiate journalism.

Over the decades, Pacemakers have been awarded to online, newspaper, magazine and yearbook.  The broadcast Pacemaker competition was added in 2020.

“As digital platforms expand, a growing number of student media operations are producing outstanding broadcast news programs,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “It is exciting to offer Pacemaker recognition for these broadcasts.”

The news programs competed directly against each other and three award-winning broadcast educators selected the winners. Of the seven finalists, four will be named Pacemakers.

News programs produced by two-year and four-year schools competed in separate categories. Frequency, school enrollment and whether the program was live or recorded were factors taken into consideration.

Finalists are alphabetical by state.


Pepperdine University
Malibu, California

Editor: Brianna Willis

Adviser: Theresa de los Santos

NewsLink Indiana

Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana

Editor: Tylor Brummett

Terry Heifetz, Lisa Renze-Rhodes

Newswatch Ole Miss

University of Mississippi
Oxford, Mississippi

Editor: Brian Barisa

Adviser: Atish Baidya


City University of New York
New York, New York

Editor: Staff

Advisers: Susan Farkas, Linda Prout

CitrusTV News Live at 6

Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York

Editors: Katie Lane, Erin Lyons, Josh Meyers, Ricky Sayer

Adviser: Michael Schoonmaker

The DrumBeat

Tyler Junior College
Tyler, Texas

Editor: Andrea Valdez

Advisers: Derik Gray, Adrienne Hampton

Lariat TV News Today

Baylor University
Waco, Texas

Editors: Sarah Gill, Julia Lawrenz, Drake Toll

Adviser: Bruce Gietzen