2021 Yearbook Pacemakers

ACP names ‘best of the best’

Four 2021 collegiate yearbooks earn Pacemakers

March 5, 2022

LONG BEACH — The nation’s top collegiate yearbooks were recognized today by Associated Collegiate Press, which announced four in its annual Pacemaker Awards competition at ACP Spring National College Media Conference in Long Beach.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Laura Widmer, executive director, said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best with Pacemaker honors.”

The ACP Pacemaker Award, one of the oldest awards for collegiate journalism, has a rich tradition. The association began presenting the prestigious award to collegiate newspapers soon after the organization was founded in 1921. Through the years, yearbooks, magazines and online sites were added to the competition.

“These yearbooks deliver engaging verbal and visual stories, showcasing superior photojournalism, writing and design,” said Gary Lundgren, associate director and coordinator of the Pacemaker competitions.

Yearbooks produced during the 2020-21 school year competed directly against each other. A team of three nationally recognized judges selected the seven Pacemaker finalists. Of those seven, four received Pacemaker honors.

Past yearbook
Pacemaker Award winners
2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

Past yearbook finalists
2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

ACP Awards Archive

Best of Show

ACP Spring National College Media convention

Royal Purple
Kansas State University
Manhattan, Kansas
Editors: Hallie Everett, Katie Harbert
Adviser: John Walter

Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, Missouri
Editor: Nicole Reed
Adviser: Steven Chappell

Southern Methodist University
Dallas, Texas
Editors: Simone Melvin, Ash Thye
Adviser: Jessie King

Baylor Roundup
Baylor University
Waco, Texas
Editor: Matti Pennington
Advisers: Bruce Gietzen, Julie Reed