2023 Online Pacemakers

ACP honors top collegiate online media

Oct. 30, 2023

Associated Collegiate Press honored the nation’s top collegiate online media with its Pacemaker awards at the Fall National College Media Convention, in Atlanta.

ACP Pacemakers in Broadcast, Innovation, Magazine, Multiplatform, Newspaper/Newsmagazine and Online were announced at the convention’s awards ceremony.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” Executive Director Laura Widmer said. “NSPA is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

> Online Pacemaker finalists

2023 Online Pacemakers
Two-year campuses

listed by state

The Union

El Camino College
Torrance, California

Editor-in-chief: Khoury Williams

Adviser: Stefanie Frith

The Clarion

Madison Area Technical College
Madison, Wisconsin

Editor-in-chief: Kylie Phillips

Adviser: Doug Kirchberg

2023 Online Pacemakers
Four-year campuses

listed by state

Daily Forty-Niner

California State University,
Long Beach
Long Beach, California

Christal Gaines-Emory, Lizet Ibarra,
Leila Nunez, Renzo Pocasangre, Luke Wines

Advisers: Barbara Kingsley-Wilson, Gary Metzker

Los Angeles Loyolan

Loyola Marymount University
Los Angeles, California

Chris Benis, Amy Carlyle

Advisers: Tom Nelson, Kevin O’Keeffe

Daily Bruin

University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Editor-in-chief: Victoria Li

Adviser: Abigail Goldman

The State Hornet

Sacramento State University
Sacramento, California

Editor-in-chief: Tony Rodriguez

Adviser: Fernando Gallo

Golden Gate Xpress

San Francisco State University
San Francisco, California

Editors-in-chief: Joshua Carter, Lisa Moreno

Advisers: Josh Davis, Rachele Kanigel


University of North Florida
Jacksonville, Florida

Editor-in-chief: Carter Mudgett

Adviser: Amanda Cox

The Daily Iowan

University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Editors-in-chief: Ryan Hansen, Hannah Pinski

Adviser: Jason Brummond

The Michigan Daily

University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Editors-in-chief: Paige Hodder,
Shannon Stocking, Kate Weiland

The State News

Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan

Editor-in-chief: Sa’Mya Overall

Advisers: Wesley Herold,
Kim Margolis, Chris Richert

The Ithacan

Ithaca College
Ithaca, New York

Editors-in-chief: Caitlin Holtzman, Syd Pierre

Adviser: Casey Musarra

NYCity News Service

City University of New York
New York, New York

Editor-in-chief: Staff

Adviser: John Mancini

The Chronicle

Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

Editor-in-chief: Milla Surjadi

Adviser: Chrissy Beck

Elon News Network

Elon University
Elon, North Carolina

Editor-in-chief: Miranda Ferrante

Adviser: Kelly Furnas

OU Daily

University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma

Jillian Taylor, Jazz Wolfe

Adviser: Seth Prince

Daily Emerald

University of Oregon
Eugene, Oregon

Editors-in-chief: Sarah Matlick, Hannarose McGuinness

Advisers: Kathy Carbone, Bill Kunerth,
Shelly Rondestvedt, Anna Smith

The Daily Gamecock

University of South Carolina
Columbia, South Carolina

Kailey Cota, Sydney Dunlap

Sydney Cranmer,
Sarah Scarborough

The Shorthorn

The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Editor-in-chief: Dang Le

Advisers: Laurie Fox,
Will Parchman

The Daily Texan

The University of Texas at Austin
Austin, Texas

Anna Canizales, Mantra Dave,
Fiza Kuzhiyil, Megan Tran

Adviser: Peter Chen