2023 Reporter of the Year

ACP honors
top collegiate reporters

Reporter of the Year

Two-year School
Four-year School

Oct. 30, 2023

Associated Collegiate Press salutes the winners of its 2023 Reporter of the Year competition.

ACP’s Individual Awards are among the top prizes in collegiate media, and the awards are a showcase of journalistic excellence.

Winners were announced during the Fall National College Media Convention, on Oct. 30 in Atlanta.

2023 ACP Individual Awards

Broadcast Story of the Year
Cartoon of the Year
Design of the Year
Multimedia Story of the Year
Photo of the Year
Reporter of the Year
Story of the Year

Fall ACP Pacemakers
presented in fall 2023

2023 Broadcast
2023 Innovation
2023 Magazine
2023 Multiplatform
2023 Newspaper
2023 Online

Spring Pacemakers
& Individual Awards

2022 Yearbook
presented in spring 2023

2023 Business
2023 Yearbook
2024 Online
presented in spring 2024

Business & Advertising
Individual Awards
presented in spring 2024

ACP awards archive

ACP contests at a glance

Two-year School, Reporter of the Year

First Place
Nicolette Monique Luna
The Southwestern College Sun
Southwestern College (CA)

Second Place
Lizzy Rager
The Express
Las Positas College (CA)

Third Place
Ethan Cohen
The Union
El Camino College (CA)

Fourth Place
Carrie Graham
el Don
Santa Ana College (CA)

Fifth Place
Kate Bent
Coast Report
Orange Coast College (CA)

Honorable mentions

Gerardo Chagolla
The Hornet, Fullerton College (CA)

Hannah Soukup
Observer, Elgin Community College (IL)

Andrea Olan
The Brookhaven Courier, Dallas College Brookhaven Campus (TX)

Carmen Guzman
The Et Cetera, Dallas College Eastfield Campus (TX)

Alex Hoben
The Collegian, Tarrant County College (TX)

Four-year School, Reporter of the Year

First Place
Elissa Maudlin
The Ball State Daily News
Ball State University (IN)

Second Place
Dang Le
The Shorthorn
The University of Texas at Arlington

Third Place
Katherine Oung
Vanderbilt Hustler
Vanderbilt University (TN)

Fourth Place
Elizabeth Wilson
Mustang News
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Fifth Place
Rayleigh Deaton
Kentucky Kernel
University of Kentucky

Honorable mentions

Richie Rodriguez
Daily Forty-Niner, California State University, Long Beach

Myron Caringal
Golden Gate Xpress, San Francisco State University (CA)

Miles Herszenhorn
The Harvard Crimson, Harvard University (MA)

Christa Dutton
Old Gold & Black, Wake Forest University (NC)

Margaret Faust
Elon News Network, Elon University (NC)