2023 Pacemaker finalists in Newspaper/Newsmagazine

ACP names top student newspapers/newsmagazines

Pacemaker competition recognizes 23 finalists

Aug. 28, 2023

MINNEAPOLIS — Student newspapers and newsmagazines from 23 colleges and universities have been recognized as Pacemaker finalists by the Associated College Press.

The winners will be announced at the ACP Pacemaker and Individual Awards Ceremony at 4:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 30, at the Fall National College Media Convention, in Atlanta.

“The Pacemaker is the association’s preeminent award,” executive director Laura Widmer said. “ACP is honored to recognize the best of the best.”

The 23 newspaper/newsmagazine finalists represent 15 states. California set the pace with five finalists followed by Texas with three.

Three print issues produced during the 2022-23 school year were submitted for consideration. Two teams of three judges studied every entry and analyzed its strengths and weaknesses. At least two of the three judges agreed on whether a newspaper/newspaper was eliminated or would be named a finalist or winner.

Of the 23 finalists, 12 will earn the Pacemaker award, placing the winning publications in approximately the top 14 percent of the entries. 

Newspapers from four-year schools competed against schools with similar enrollment. Newspapers from two-year schools, of all enrollments, competed in a separate category.

Four newspapers/newsmagazines published by two-year schools are among the 23 finalists. Of those four, three will earn Pacemaker honors.

It is exciting to see how these colleges and universities are refining their print products in today’s college media ecosystem,” Associate Director Gary Lundgren said. “It is definitely a transitional time for the college student newspaper.”

In all, 90 newspapers/newsmagazine entered the Pacemaker competition compared to 88 the previous year.

In addition to demonstrating excellence in key areas including coverage, writing, editing, design and photography, the winning newspapers took risks and served as a strong voice for the student audience.

In this competition, only the print product was judged. Online sites compete in a separate Pacemaker competition.

Finalists are alphabetical by state.

Convention website • Register

ACP awards ceremonies

4:30 p.m. Monday, Oct. 30

Finalists honored and
winners announced
for fall Pacemakers —

Winners announced —
ACP Individual Awards

11 a.m. Wednesday, Nov. 1

ACP Best of Show awards

Enter Best of Show
at the fall convention.

2023 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemaker finalists for two-year campuses

listed by state

The Southwestern College Sun
Southwestern College
Chula Vista, California
Editors-in-chief: Liliana Anguiano,
Camila Gonzalez, Nicolette Monique Luna
Advisers: Max Branscomb, Kenneth Pagano

el Don
Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California
Editors-in-chief: Kate Bustamante, Edgar Galvan
Advisers: Sarah Bennett, Jacqueline Schlossman

The Reporter
Miami Dade College
Miami, Florida
Editor-in-chief: Juan Gomez
Adviser: Manolo Barco

The Et Cetera
Dallas College Eastfield
Mesquite, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Carmen Guzman, Moira McIntee
Advisers: Lori Dann, Beth Langton, Natalie Webster

2023 Newspaper/Newsmagazine Pacemaker finalists for four-year campuses

listed by state

The Pepperdine Graphic
Pepperdine University
Malibu, California
Editor-in-chief: Abby Wilt
Advisers: Elizabeth Smith, Courtenay Stallings

Spartan Daily
San Jose State University
San Jose, California
Editors-in-chief: Nathan Canilao, Bojana Cvijic
Adviser: Richard Craig

Mustang News
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, California
Editor-in-chief: Catherine Allen
Advisers: Pat Howe, Jon Schlitt, Brady Teufel

The Arbiter
Boise State University
Boise, Idaho
Editors-in-chief: Kelby Andrew, Andrea Teres-Martinez
Advisers: Jennifer Fields, Braelyn Whitelock

The DePaulia
DePaul University
Chicago, Illinois
Editors-in-chief: Nadia Carolina Hernandez, Erik Uebelacker
Adviser: Marla Krause

The Daily Northwestern
Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois
Editors-in-chief: Jacob Fulton, Alexandria Perry
Adviser: Stacia Campbell

Daily News
Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana
Editor-in-chief: Elissa Maudlin
Adviser: Lisa Renze-Rhodes

The Daily Iowan
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa
Editor-in-chief: Hannah Pinski
Adviser: Jason Brummond

The Sunflower
Wichita State University
Wichita, Kansas
Editor-in-chief: Jaycie Nelson
Adviser: Amy DeVault

College Heights Herald
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Editors-in-chief: Jake Moore, Debra Murray
Advisers: Chuck Clark, Carrie Pratt

The Maroon
Loyola University New Orleans
New Orleans, Louisiana
Editors-in-chief: Macie Batson, Jackie Galli, Gabriella Killet
Adviser: Michael Giusti

The Harvard Crimson
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Editors-in-chief: Cara Chang, Brandon Kingdollar

The State News
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
Editor-in-chief: Sa’Mya Overall
Advisers: Wesley Herold, Kim Margolis, Chris Richert

Northwest Missourian
Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville, Missouri
Editor-in-chief: MaKayla Polak
Adviser: Steven Chappell

The Daily Tar Heel
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Editor-in-chief: Guillermo Molero
Adviser: Courtney Mitchell

The Pendulum
Elon University
Elon, North Carolina
Editors-in-chief: Caroline Mitchell, Sophie Rosenthal
Adviser: Kelly Furnas

The Daily Barometer
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon
Editor-in-chief: Riley LeCocq
Adviser: Jennifer Moody

The Shorthorn
The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas
Editor-in-chief: Dang Le
Advisers: Laurie Fox, Will Parchman

The Rice Thresher
Rice University
Houston, Texas
Editors-in-chief: Prayag Gordy, Riya Misra
Adviser: Katharine Shilcutt