2020 Best Use of Social Media

Oct. 22, 2020

Associated Collegiate Press salutes the winners of its 2020 Best Use of Social Media competition.

Winners were announced during the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention awards ceremony, presented virtually on Oct. 22.

the awards ceremony for Pacemakers and Individual Awards
on Oct. 22, 2020.

2020 ACP Individual Awards

MultimediaReporterPhoto • Story
Best Use of Social MediaCOVID-19 Coverage

2020 ACP Pacemakers

Broadcast • Business • Innovation
Magazine • Newspaper • Online • 2019 Yearbook

Best of Show
Virtual 2020
Fall National College Media Convention
Oct. 24, 2020

ACP Awards page

ACP Awards archive

Social Media Reporting

Shooting at Eastgate Apartments
Baylor Lariat
Baylor University
Waco, Texas

Twitter Coverage of Black Lives Matter Protest
Parth Kotak
The GW Hatchet
The George Washington University
Washington, D.C.

The Shorthorn’s Approach to Social Media
The Shorthorn
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas

Black Lives Matter protest Twitter thread
Ashley Hayford
The Daily Collegian
Penn State University
State College, Pennsylvania

Saints basketball preview night is slam dunk
Preston Burrows, Annette Meza, Cheyenne Miller, Calen Moore
Crusader News
Seward County Community College
Liberal, Kansas

Honorable mention
Five presidential candidates talk Latinx issues at Cal State LA
George Garcia, Isaac Gutierrez, Amairani Hernandez,  Richard Tzul, Catherine Valdez
University Times
California State University, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Honorable mention
COVID-19 Group Page
Marissa Payne, Aadit Tambe, Sarah Watson
The Daily Iowan
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Honorable mention
The Michigan Daily Social Media
Reporting Portfolio
John Grieve, Benjamin Korn
The Michigan Daily
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Social Media Promotion

High Stakes
Brooke Schneider, David Schneidman, Shannon Stubbs
The NewsHouse
Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York

UrbanArts Campaign
Barbara Silvera Ramìrez
Urbana Literary & Arts
Miami Dade College, Eduardo J. Padrón Campus
Miami, Florida

University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida

Oregon fundraising battle
Alec Dietz, Josh Kirshenbaum, Hailey Robinson
The Daily
University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

Talisman Social Media
Bailey Cooke, Erin Horton, Sam Mallon, Rylee McKee, Ally Mefford
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green, Kentucky

Honorable mention
State News Social Media Promotion
Staff Staff
The State News
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan

Honorable mention
We’ll never be the same
Will Jacott, Zach Walker
The Clarion
Bethel University
St. Paul, Minnesota