2020 Newspaper Pacemaker Awards

Oct. 22, 2020

Associated Collegiate Press salutes the winners of its 2020 Newspaper Pacemaker Awards.

Winners were announced during the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention awards ceremony, presented virtually on Oct. 22.

Winners are alphabetical by state.

the awards ceremony for Pacemakers and Individual Awards
on Oct. 22, 2020.

Two-year schools

The Sun
Southwestern College
Chula Vista, California
Editor: Brittany Cruz-Fejeran
Adviser: Max Branscomb

The Roundup
Los Angeles Pierce College
Los Angeles, California
Editors: Katya Castillo, Chris Torres
Advisers: Jill Connelly, Jeff Favre

el Don
Santa Ana College
Santa Ana, California
Editor: Lesly Guzman
Adviser: Charles Little

The Collegian
Tarrant County College
Hurst, Texas
Editors: Jill Bold, Juan Ibarra
Advisers: Stacy Luecker, Jocelyn Tatum, Chris Whitley

The Et Cetera
Eastfield College
Mesquite, Texas
Editor: Skye Seipp
Advisers: Lori Dann, Elizabeth Langton, Sarah Sheldon

Four-year schools

Daily Bruin
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California
Editor: Angie Forburger
Adviser: Abigail Goldman

Pepperdine University
Malibu, California
Editor: Madeleine Carr
Advisers: Elizabeth Smith, Courtenay Stallings

The Red & Black
University of Georgia
Athens, Georgia
Editors: Sofi Gratas, Collin Huguley, Hunter Riggall
Adviser: Rebecca Burns

The Saber
Columbus State University
Columbus, Georgia
Editor: Ashley Peterson
Adviser: Joseph Miller

The Columbia Chronicle
Columbia College Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Editor: Alexandra Yetter
Advisers: Curtis Lawrence, Travis Truitt

Indiana Daily Student
Indiana University
Bloomington, Indiana
Editors: Annie Aguiar, Lydia Gerike, Matt Rasnic
Advisers: Jim Rodenbush, Ruth Witmer

The Ball State Daily News
Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana
Editor: Brooke Kemp
Adviser: Lisa Renze-Rhodes

The Daily Iowan
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa
Editor: Marissa Payne
Adviser: Jason Brummond

The State News
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan
Editor: Madison O’Connor
Advisers: Daena Faustino, Wesley Herold,
Christopher Richert, Omar Sofradzija

The Daily Mississippian
University of Mississippi
University, Mississippi
Editors: Eliza Noe, Daniel Payne
Advisers: Atish Baidya, Greg Brock, Patricia Thompson

The Ithacan
Ithaca College
Ithaca, New York
Editor: Sophia Adamucci
Adviser: Michael Serino

The Daily Orange
Syracuse University
Syracuse, New York
Editor: Haley Robertson
Adviser: No adviser

The Shorthorn
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, Texas
Editors: Brian Lopez, Reese Oxner
Adviser: Laurie Fox

The Commonwealth Times
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, Virginia
Editor: Georgia Geen
Advisers: Allison Bennett Dyche, Mark Jeffries

Calgary Journal
Mount Royal University
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Editors: Staff
Advisers: Sean Holman, Archie McLean

2020 ACP Pacemakers

Broadcast • Business • Innovation
Magazine • Newspaper • Online • 2019 Yearbook

2020 Pacemaker finalists

MagazineNewspaper • Online2019 Yearbook

2020 ACP Individual Awards

MultimediaReporterPhoto • Story
Best Use of Social MediaCOVID-19 Coverage

Best of Show
Virtual 2020
Fall National College Media Convention
Oct. 24, 2020

ACP Awards page

ACP Awards archive